Back to Nature in Baracoa


Advertisement
Cuba's flag
Central America Caribbean » Cuba » Este » Baracoa
May 3rd 2006
Published: May 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

PalmPalmPalm

In Humbolt Park
Sorry guys, that doesn´t mean me getting nekked and over-familiar with trees! It´s just a good description of my time here in Baracoa!! It´s a lovely, calm relaxed place, almost completely free from hassle. It´s set in a wonderful location by the sea, with rainforest clad mountains behind, including "El Yunque", a big table-topped thing that was the first part of Cuba seen by Columbus back in 1492, and mentioned in his journals. So, while I´ve been here, I´ve been to the Parque Alejandro Humbolt, and seen the differing vegetation from tropical jungle to rainforest. And I´ve climbed El Yunque, all 575m steeply upwards in the baking sun. Fantastic views up top. Both days we walked miles, and both days at the end we were able to swim in crystal clear rivers. Much as I like it here, I don´t like that I may be stuck here indefinitely! I need to withdraw more money. The first day I went to the bank they told me that there was a communication problem with Havansa, so I couldn´t make a withdrawel. Today, they are closed because there´s no electricity in that part of town...

Luckily, I´ve just been to the bank, they
MeMeMe

Up top
had electricity, they had communications....they had a damn long queue... but I got money, and I got my ticket back to Santiago, and I´m outta here!!




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

ViewView
View

of the sea
Anyone...Anyone...
Anyone...

...for a swim?!


Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 22; qc: 68; dbt: 0.104s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb