Pura Vida (There have to be so many blog entries and titles with that name...)


Advertisement
Published: January 23rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Bocas - Puerto Viejo - Turrialba


Hello my few but dear followers. I finally got around to write another entry here. I was planing to mostly put up pictures and maps from my trip, but since I didn't move around too much and my camera broke after the first week, there isn't an abundance of either to be shown here. So let me just give you a rough description of the three places I was staying for the last few weeks

Bocas del Toro

I stayed there for another 3 Weeks in the same homestay/hostel. The first two of them were hopefully the worst part of my traveling... a few hours of rain every day, cold and cloudy the rest of the time and some trouble with my shoulder that kept me from surfing or doing any other sports. The only thing to do for me was learning spanish and waiting for better times.

Luckily the weather and my shoulder got better an I could spend the last week surfing, diving and doing other fun stuff.

Puerto Viejo

A very touristy caribbean town with nice beaches and beachbreakes and Jungle all around. I stayed at another spanish school, where I probably learned more dutch than spanish, since the crowd there were mostly from the Netherlands and Belgium. The higlight there were definitively the surf sessions at sunrise with (almost) empty beaches and lineups.

Turrialba

Even though there is no sea and no beaches, this is my favorite place so far. A small town in the muntains with almost no tourists and therefore a very authentic vibe. There is not so much to do here besides the spanish classes, so untill two days ago I was mostly hanging out with people from the school or with the family I'm living with. Now I'm doing a 7 day canyoneering training with a private guide who teaches me the nuts and bolts of this awesome sport. the goal is to be ready for the guide-course in spring in Switzerland or Austria.


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0455s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb