September 6, 2008


Advertisement
Published: September 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone, I hope all is well with you. Yesterday I did not have class, but I came to work anyway so I could prepare for my class today and I had dinner plans with my friend. We went to a so called Mexican place, and it was really good, but not at all what I wanted. I ordered a chicken quesadilla. It was a different kind of flour tortilla, not hard, but not exactly soft, sort of the texture of a sopapilla. The chicken inside was good, it was in a cream sauce, rather than a tomato and chile sauce. And on top was pico de gailo. It was good, but it did not satisfy my craving for Tex-Mex food.

After that I went out with another teacher, Emnet, she is Swedish, and I rode with her to her house and then we met up with a lot of her friends, some local girls, and others from States, and one girl from Japan. We ended up at a Keroke bar, those are funny at home when people try to sing American pop songs, but even funnier with Latin songs - at least for me! We went to another place that was swankier, and there was a cover that seemed expensive to the locals, but it was less than $2, which I laughed out loud about. That was about how much the beers were too. It was really fun, I talked a lot to Fabian, who is also a teacher. He graduated with a Chemical Engineering degree, so I was wondering what he was doing teaching, I told him that if he were in the States he could earn a lot of money with that degree.

This morning I had a higher level class that was fun. One of their vocabulary words was scoundrel. So I tried to think of a particular movie with a scoundrel, but I could only think about Jack Nicholson, so one of the students brought up The Bucket List, so I asked if they knew what it meant. They were really interested in the phrase, kick the bucket. So we talked about that and then they told me that they have a similar phrase in Spanish - hanging your shoes out - that is like kicking the bucket. I love all the interaction because I learn so much.

Well I guess that's all for now. I'm going to grab a sandwich and then probably go home. I'm really tired, I was out kind of late with my friends and I had to get up early. It seems like a nice day out, not raining yet anyway. By the way, I am really enjoying everyone's comments and emails. It makes me feel connected. I miss my family and friends and cats, I even miss my car, but I'm having a good time, I am meeting a lot of new people and I enjoy teaching. Hugs to everyone! I probably won't have internet access until Monday.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0484s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb