Lost camera in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica


Advertisement
Published: December 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So, I recently went to Peru (Machu Picchu) and Costa Rica with my husband for our belated honeymoon. We must have took hundreds of photos on our journey and were very careful with our camera since we knew how valuable our pictures were to us. On the last night, December 4th 2009 (at Issimo Suites) we made the conscience decision NOT to take the camera out of the room that day because we had enough photos and did not want to run the risk of losing the camera/pictures. Right before we left for Barba Roja (amazing place to watch the sunset by the way) at about 5 pm, my husband picked up the camera and said "one more" then took one last pic of me on the balcony. He then set it down in it's usual place (so we thought).

The sunset that night ended up not being much since it was sort of cloudy but there was something very interesting about how the sun dropped and there was a small square in the sky that was not covered by a could. The rest of the sky was completely dark except for that one square where the sun's final rays were trying reach out. We said it looked the someone left a light on in heaven. The outdoor restaurant has spectacular wide-open views overlooking the water and hills, gorgeous! This is significant since at one time he felt his pockets to grab the camera and take a picture, quickly to realize that he did not have it -- he left it at the hotel, duh!

We went to Bambu Jam after that, another great restaurant in town that has a live Salsa/Merengue band. We had a delicious meal of fresh Dorado, tried (emphasis on tried) to dance for a few songs and left just as the place was starting to get packed. We went back to enjoy our last night in our amazing jacuzzi room suite at Issimo. I must say it was a blissful night.

Sadly, the morning did not turn out the same way. As my husband was finishing up the packing while I was in the shower, he yelled out in a panic...."where is the camera?"
It was gone. We unpacked everything -- nada!

I immediately called the receptionist and asked it if was turned in and it was not. We retraced our steps and contacted the two places where it could have possibly been lost, the taxi and Barba Roja. The receptionist was remarkably able to find which cab driver we had when we left since they called him for us, amazing. Unfortunately though, he had not found it. Barba Roja did not either.

I am having a hard time getting over this because I cannot let go of the disturbing feeling that someone came into the room and stole our camera. It's hard to say, think and write because the hotel was so wonderful and the staff was always helpful. I got a 30-minute massage that day in the hotel spa and told the massage therapist I would come back tomorrow and give her a tip (and I did but she was not there) since I did not plan well by conserving enough cash before my appointment. Could that be the payback for not tipping? It sounds crazy I know but these are the kinds of things I think about. All other 'valuables' were on us except our passports that were in the safe.

The reality is, my husband probably mindlessly put the camera in his pocket and left it in the taxi and someone else found it -- and kept it. So, if you are out there, even if you did steal my red, Olympus (I cannot remember the number) please return the memory card! Please. It is a bummer to lose my camera but it is devastating to me to lose the memories. Yes, I do still have the memories in my head but what if I don't someday? Not to mention all of the collective hours we spent posing, clicking and documenting. I just want one photo from our honeymoon-- that we had to delay so we could save up for this trip. Please I beg you to do the right thing!



Advertisement



14th December 2009

that was the saddest story i've ever heard. Why don't you make a new memory, have a another honeymoon, somewhere else.
14th December 2009

Lost Camera in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
In addition to my wife's posting, I want to pleade with anyone that may have found this camera to please return the memory card. As hard as it was to lose the pictures, it has been harder to see my wife so upset. As my wife mentioned, it does not seem reasonable that someone took the camera from our room. If we did take the camera to Barba Roja, then we had to have lost it in the taxi @ 5pm on December 4th. If you rode in this taxi at that time, you undoubtedly found this camera. Feel free to keep the camera, just return the memory card. Please!!
15th December 2009

The trip sounds perfect. Hopefully, the finder will find you!
13th January 2010

Help!
I hope the good people who found the camera will contact you and at least send the memory card!
26th March 2010

Lost Camera
I completely feel for you! My husband and I also lost our camera in Samara Beach, Costa Rica in the beginning of February 2010. It was a first vacation w/our young daughter along (she was 18 mos old). The worst part is that I also had her Xmas photos on the memory card and hadn't had a chance to download them before we left on vacation. So I also lost all photos of her opening gifts, etc. If anyone found mine I also plead to just return the memory card. I don't care about the camera. Nearly all of the photos are of a couple w/a young dark-haired child. If anyone out there every finds anyone's camera, please just slip the memory card into the mail anonymously. Keep the camera if you want to!

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0442s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb