Surf Master Fink


Advertisement
Published: October 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today will be known as the day the surf world changed forever…because I entered the picture. Nate, from Oregon, was bunking in our room and Jerry and I discovered he was a surfer. We asked if he’d show us how and he said he would. Unfortunately, his bus left earlier than anticipated, so he couldn’t go to the beach with us, but determined, Jerry and I headed down to the beach and rented a board for ourselves. At first, it wasn’t pretty. I rode the board in a few times, as if it were a boogie board. The waves weren’t huge—but they weren’t small either! So we spied on the surf lessons that were happening around us, stole some tips, but still no luck. Jerry finally started talking to a local out in the waves who gave him some tips, but he still had no luck. I stole the board from Jerry, rode a wave or two in--on my knees, which wasn’t quite the goal, abut close to it. When I came back to our chairs Jerry was talking to a local and his friend. The local, Robert, insisted we go out and give it a try, he was insistent that I stand up on the board. We headed back out, it took a few waves, but I finally did it! I stood up. It wasn’t graceful, but I did it. Then I caught the next wave and did it again. So, I called it quits right there. We had been at the beach for hours and I was exhausted. It was a lot of fun and I plan on giving it a try further down the road.

We got back to Quepos and I ran to the grocery store to pick up some fruit, right as I get in there it starts pouring! I took my time, hoping it would pause long enough to run the two blocks to the hostel without getting soaked, but no luck. The rain continued nearly the entire night. The power went on and off at the hostel a few times-- apparently this was a big storm that rolled in. The following day I bought my ticket to go back to San Jose and was informed they had just opened the road back up-it flooded?! So I hop on the bus with a few guys from the hostel, one of which talked me ear off the entire time (it was a 4 hour bus ride).

Arrived San Jose around 7, took a cab to Tranquillo Backpackers (you take cabs after it gets dark). It’s quite the little hippy digs. I walked in and they were playing “Freebird,” and burning incense, so I thought this place couldn’t be all bad. Spent the following day in San Jose trying to find a camping place to scope tents and mosquito net, apparently they don’t “do” sporting goods stores in San Jose…oh well. Instead bought some fruits and veggies for lunch and heading back to the hostel. Feel much more confident walking around San Jose the second time around, at least now I ‘know the streets.’ Tomorrow, getting on a bus for Torteguero on the Caribbean coast, the mecca of turtle egg hatching. Stay there for a few days and then down the coast to more beaches (and surfing).


Advertisement



Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0702s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb