Watching the Waves Roll In


Advertisement
Published: November 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Pura Vida: A lifestyle term used in Costa Rica to describe the chill, the relaxed, the enjoyed - pretty much anything that adds contentment to life. The Ticos (locals) here live by that saying. And once you get here, you will too.

Three weeks so far in Costa Rica chasing waves and living the Pura Vida beachside. Life here is simple. Wake up, surf, eat, chillax, play crib, surf, hammock session, surf, watch sunset, eat good food, meet new people, sleep, REPEAT. *Translation: a very desirable lifestyle compared to the rat race at home.

First week here I met up with my good buddy Corey Rich and his cousin Kevin, followed by a random meeting with two great characters - Bill from Virginia and Alex from London. They happened to have a rental car for a week and they were more than gracious to invite us along for a little road trip down the central Pacific Coast. Having no fixed plans, why not? We scored some great waves off the beaten path and checked out a new area of Costa Rica I have not been to before, from Playa Hermosa down to Domincal.

After bidding goodbye to our
AhhhhhAhhhhhAhhhhh

What more can I say?
awesome new friends, we boated over to the Nicoya Pennisula and have since set up shop at Playa Santa Theresa. A paradise in itself, this little community is 100% surf oriented. Surf rules everybody's mind. That's fine by me as I have no desire but to do anything but. Now if you excuse me, I have some waves to catch...

Pura Vida
Ben


Additional photos below
Photos: 36, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Un PozoUn Pozo
Un Pozo

Getting some hangtime...
Freedom of WheelsFreedom of Wheels
Freedom of Wheels

Playa Esterillos
StereotypeStereotype
Stereotype

Perfection - Playa Esterillos Oueste
PerfectionPerfection
Perfection

Playa Domical
SunriseSunrise
Sunrise

Playa Domincal
Little RipperLittle Ripper
Little Ripper

Everybody's doing it. I bet this shredder is better than you!
BoysBoys
Boys

"So hows that excel spreadsheet coming along?" Ah, excellent my friend. I'm just heading out now to put the finishing touches on it once I finish my coconut milk!"
Life's a BeachLife's a Beach
Life's a Beach

Ben, Alex and Corey living the Pura Vida
Peligroso!Peligroso!
Peligroso!

Watch out! Don't want to step on this little bugger or else....ouch!
Cerveza TimeCerveza Time
Cerveza Time

Nothing like a good beer with a good buddy...


26th November 2008

look out
Yo Ben, I am out of here sat. morning. See you soon my friend.
29th November 2008

nice!
dude you are ripping! looks awesome, glad you are having good weather! I was in Mal pais/sta theresa last year and those waves can definatley teach you a lesson! have a great time! think about meeting us in sayulita mex for a surf birthday extravaganza, feb 17th-26th! best, nate and jenny

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0546s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb