Shelter and Sea


Advertisement
Published: March 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Daily RoutineDaily RoutineDaily Routine

Combing and waxing my board for the best grip. Apply chalky, white zinc sunscreen, chug water, then scramble across the fire hot sand to the shore carrying my beastly board.
Pura Vida Adventure Surf Camp March 3-9 2007
Daily schedule: Sleep, yoga, eat, surf, eat, surf, eat, sleep.

Literally translated, “pura vida” means pure life. This phrase is the common response when one is asked how they are doing. To further expand on the meaning, I found the best description within the Costa Rica section of Wikipedia. It states that this motto, “…encapsulates the pervading ideology of living in peace in a calm, unclustered manner, appreciating a life surrounded by nature and family and friends.” It is a way of life that is not dictated by a clock. You go with the flow of each day. I was not as quick to adopt this lifestyle as I thought I would be. You have to let go of the things that are weighing you down in order to float, so you can flow.

Floating, physically and mentally, is important in surfing. During the sessions when I was distracted with my own thoughts or emotions, I surfed like crap and sank. I struggled more physically in the water, and made things harder than they had to be. But, when I was clear-headed, and was without hesitation, I floated. I
Our classroomOur classroomOur classroom

Checking out the waves and fellow campers at Playa Carmen. From left: Helen, Rebecca (roomie), and Annie (instructor).
paddled strong and felt more in-tune with the waves. I read them better. I could see more clearly which ones to paddle for, and I could feel when I was supposed to stop paddling and stand up on my board. (Whether I acutally stood up was another story).

One of my favorite DVDs is “Lines from a Poem.” It is a film, which artistically expresses the art of longboard surfing in Australia. Everyday at camp, I thought of the different scenes, music, or quotes from this film. It depicts all the different elements of the act of surfing and contends that eventually “all the parts fit together like the lines from a poem.”

I did not truly understand what that quote meant until I was in the water. Wasn’t surfing just one full swooping action? No. There were so many parts to learn and to execute at the same time. Paddle like this, watch out for that, remember the rip current, move your feet here, place your hands there, keep your head up, press your hips down, go for this wave, turtleroll under that wave. As my fellow camper, Helen, remarked on the beach, “I’m very busy out
Let's do this. Let's do this. Let's do this.

The 9'0 beast and I makin' our way to the waves. My other roomie, Grace, is pictured to the right.
there.”

After each day, I collected all the parts I learned and needed to work on for the following day as I sat bruised, burnt, scraped, and sore. Everything remained scattered and jumbled in my head until a sunset surf session on March 7th. I stood up on my 9’0” board in the whitewater. I remember thinking, “holy crap…I’m actually standing on this board!” That thought was soon followed by a feeling of pure joy. The emotion was magnified with the sounds of celebration from my fellow campers. I steadied myself and threw my arms in the air in triumph against the backdrop of the setting sun. All the parts did fit together.

In the words of the great Hawaiin Pipeline surfer, Gerry Lopez:
“I think one of the big lessons you learn about surfing is…how to…operate in the present. That’s really what the foundation of the entire surfing experience is.”
(as quoted in the film “A Broke Down Melody”)



Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

what a rush.what a rush.
what a rush.

A lil' pop-up in the whitewater on the last day. That's all I needed. I was exhausted, but I wanted more. But, what more could I ask for?
Relaxin'Relaxin'
Relaxin'

When you're spent, it's best to just belly-cruise your way into shore.
NOT me. NOT me.
NOT me.

Quick Lesson: This is a pic of "left-breaking" wave. Waves break to the surfer's left or right as he/she faces the shore. The surfer was the "outside" to catch the wave and the breaking whitewater waves in the foreground is called the "inside."
Surfer PupSurfer Pup
Surfer Pup

Lova, the camp owner's dog, and Danny, one of the instructors. Lova could really rip on some waves. Check out the right-breaking wave in the background!
Hang 20 (Lova Style)Hang 20 (Lova Style)
Hang 20 (Lova Style)

It never got old to watch Lova run around and get on the board. She had a good run on this shot, but lost her concentration. haha. She also loved to eat rocks, which cracked me up equally. Lova is the true beach dog.
The Off-RoaderThe Off-Roader
The Off-Roader

Loaded every morning and afternoon. The van was packed full of the essentials: boards. Pictured: instructors Anna & Danny. Unbelievable that it was never broken into.
FenceFence
Fence

As you could see in the film, Endless Summer II, the fences are tree trunks, or trees, marked with barb wire.
UnknownUnknown
Unknown

I saw this guy around town a few times. I don't know anything about him. I do know he was great surfer.
PeacePeace
Peace

Whether I felt that I surfed well or not, I always found peace of mind for reflection in the sunsets. I am very thankful for that.
Close-upClose-up
Close-up

a rock and an easy place.
The GroupThe Group
The Group

Taken by fellow camper, Suzanne. The majority of the 11 gals are shown at the super yummy Argentine restaurant called Las Pierdas (The Rocks). It was 1 of the 2 group dinners we shared outside the hotel.
The Place BarThe Place Bar
The Place Bar

We always deserved a drink at the end of the day (as does everyone), or to just take a moment to chill and appreciate the night since the majority of us fell asleep right after dinner. I remember how the night sky was COVERED in stars. I could've stared at them till morning.


12th April 2007

Great Photos
Kate: I wasn't able to get the blog at home but it came through perfectly at work and I loved the fact that there is an "alert" to let me know you have written more! You are woman!
14th April 2007

i miss you
how beautiful are those pictures. How lucky you are to be there and taking all it in. how lucky love auntie gma is still the same no change
15th April 2007

Beautiful writing- as if I was there... reading this relaxed me- or maybe it's cuz i just downloaded some Marley? Hey if you get a sec, remind me of the Marley song you seemed to always have around last summer... I miss it and you.

Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1057s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb