My New Costa Rican Friends


Advertisement
Published: March 8th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Home Study in EnglishHome Study in EnglishHome Study in English

Miquel, Jeannette, Vanessa, Sabrina, Roxy, Kristina, Luz
Last night I was treated to participating in what I would call a "home study" only the home was a restaurant owned and operated by Luz, one of the English students.

Vanessa, who by now you have heard me mention several times, is the teacher and in this case the students are more or less adults. We shared in some food and conversation and I couldn't believe how quickly the time flew by. Luz hosted the study at her roadside restaurant and at times it was difficult hearing everyone with the big trucks going by. She made us tortillas filled with cheese and were the size of an individual pizza.

This group of people were so excited to see me you'd have thought they were meeting the Queen or something. The youngest is 12 and the oldest 49, a couple have only grade six education so it is really great that they are at least pursuing the study of English.

There was a brother/sister there and they were fighting over who would take me home with them; so yes, I was a hit. I might actually have considered it - if I was retired, at least for a couple of months and if I thought I could be of some help to them in their studies.

This evening was perhaps the greatest gift to me - meeting these people, sharing their stories and enthusiasm. I have got their email addresses and some of them are on Facebook so that we can keep in touch. You do meet the nicest people when you travel.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0518s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb