San Jose - I don't care if you know the way...


Advertisement
Published: March 8th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Today, is the day after returning from San Jose; and as the title intimates, I don't care to know the way to San Jose. I just really wanted to get the hell out of there safely. Clive went home yesterday morning very early so we thought it best to go into the city the day before and stay over, which was a great idea as there really is only one good highway into the city. (You can take the old highway but it is very windy with steep curves and only used if necessary, at least by the people I know here.) As there is only the one highway, and with all the large semi trucks sharing the road, traffic can easily get backed up and it can take a considerable amount of time to go a short distance and is really NOT a lot of fun.

They have a very large, modern and really amazing shopping centre with all the stores we see at home - over three floors with the same prices. It is located on the outskirts of San Jose, or at least you don't have to go right downtown into the heart of the city. I decided that before I left SJ I would attempt to drive there, which I did after taking the wrong off-ramp out of the city and had to back track. It was kind of worth it though because I bought a nice pair of orange sandals and a soccer ball for Alberto, my friend's son. I managed to negotiate my way back onto the right highway without incident or delay, so I was proud of myself for being able to do that.

San Jose, in the central valley, was one of the earliest settlements in CR. It is densely populated, surrounded by mountains, of which four are volcanic and two that are still active. It is chaotic driving here and not for the faint of heart. I've driven in big cities but have only dared to drive on the outskirts of San Jose, choosing instead to see San Jose with the aid of a tour company. I would have no idea how the city could be re-engineered to deal with the significant traffic issues for one thing. I don't think there was much urban planning going on in San Jose that's for sure and apparently there is a lot of discussion around re-locating the airport to Orotina, which is not far from where I am staying in the next several years.

Coffee, (the golden bean) as it is referred to, was hugely successful beginning in the late 19th century when it was being exported to Europe. As coffee planters became wealthy they desired culture and as result the Teatro Nacional Theatre was built and many pictures of this beautiful building are included in this blog.

It was interesting to see all of the really old buildings and learn a bit about the history of the capital city however as street signs are few and far between I have no idea how you would ever find your way around this city.

San Jose is 1,125m or 3,690 ft above sea level.


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0755s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb