Manana--Gringos on Parade


Advertisement
Costa Rica's flag
Central America Caribbean » Costa Rica » Puntarenas » Esparza
September 18th 2007
Published: September 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Name this fruitName this fruitName this fruit

Please if you know what this is called in English add a comment.
OK I think everyone knows about manana. However, if you don’t, here is a quick explanation. Manana literally means the morning or tomorrow. But in the spirit it is used in Central America it means another time other than right now, whenever, or later. As I mentioned in the last journal the house we were hoping to secure fell through and we found a temporary fix in a nearby apartment/hotel. Not real cheap compared to renting a house but at $16 a night it isn’t going to break the bank either. It would be nice if it had a stove but it is a roof over our head and it has a fridge, microwave, and a pool. We were offered a fully furnished three bedroom home with all the necessities; fridge, stove, dishes, pots, pans, security, telephone, internet AND all for the low price of $200 per month. The woman who lives in the house now got married to a guy from Orlando and they are moving there. She told me to call her tomorrow. I called her at the pre-arranged time and…no response. I called the next day…no response. I called that same evening…no response. I tried the next day
$1.50 Worth of Groceries$1.50 Worth of Groceries$1.50 Worth of Groceries

Yes, that is lime mayonnaise in a plastic squeeze tube.
and yes she picked up. “Oh yes, it is so great you will be able to rent my house. You should come see it tomorrow. Just call me in the early afternoon.” That was four days ago. I have called her everyday since to…you guessed it…no response. Maybe I’ll call her tomorrow or maybe not…ummm, for sure I’ll do it manana.

Manana: Part 2- As requested we arrived ready to work on Wednesday. We were supposed to observe the routines of the school and orient ourselves to the facilities. Perfect, just what I would recommend. Thursday we are supposed to work and we show up expecting a schedule of classes and some directions as to where they students are in the coursework. Uhmmmm…maybe tomorrow as you know it is very busy this week with preparations for the Independence Day parade and of course spirit week. Today you should sit in on the assembly and check out the classrooms as they have been decorated by each homeroom to celebrate Costa Rican culture and they will be judged today. OK…I’ve seen the classrooms and there is still five hours and skipped the assembly for some time on the net and there
Our living roomOur living roomOur living room

Small but cozy...and not too expensive. I renegotiated and it is $14 per night.
is still four hours left in the school day.
“Perhaps I could get a list of the classes I will be teaching.” I ask politely.
“Oh, yes I will try to have them to you by the end of the day.”
“By the way, did you hear anything more about a house for me and my family?’
“Daniel’s father has an apartment available that is supposed to be very nice. I will try to arrange for you to see it, but I don’t know when with the parade and everything.”

On Thursday after-school Nataghia went and picked up a couple of suitcases and we set up our speakers for the laptop. We ended up having an awesome dance party with Mom and Dad teaching the boys some new moves and vice versa. It was a nice break from the reality of hurry up and wait. Friday went very quickly as Nataghia and Benjamin stayed home and I spent most of the day catching up on emails in the cool confines of the computer lab. I never bothered asking about the house or our work assignments as it was relatively obvious that we were no longer a priority now
Laundry RoomLaundry RoomLaundry Room

Adriana lent us a washing machine after the $20 load fiasco. This is out the back door of our apartment.
that we are here. The school band and dance group practiced for the parade for most of the afternoon. It was rather impressive. In the morning the school received the Independence torch that is passed on from runner to runner beginning in Guatemala and ending in Costa Rica. The countries of Guatemala, El Salvador, Nicaragua, and Costa Rica all share the same Independence Day because their independence was not a result of a civil war but rather an act of parliament in Spain.

As it turns out the real reason we needed to rush to Esparza was revealed on Friday afternoon. We were told we would be in the Independence Day Parade. Apparently Sancti Spiritus is the only private school in the area with native speaking English teachers and we would be paraded as such along with the karate students, the dance team, and the marching band. There’s more to hear about the marching band later. We met at 9:30 in front of the church at the central park. Of course in retrospect we should have known better and arrived at 11 O’clock as we never actually started getting organized until then. The school was placed as the first
Our ViewOur ViewOur View

Coconuts anyone? We've seen parrots, budgies, and yes mandarin limes on the limb are everywhere.
school in the parade. Unfortunately the band instructors were also committed to a parade in Puntarenas and they were late because of traffic. As we stood in the sun and watched almost every float, group, and school pass us the midday sun was beginning to burn down on our heads. Of course we were starting to realize that food, sunscreen, and hats were probably a necessity. Unfortunately we were at the mercy of the situation. Nataghia bolted and grabbed some epanadas to resolve one part of the problem. I took off and bought a handkerchief as I was in need of one all week. Finally we were off and the parade turned out to be quite enjoyable. It turns out that the twenty minutes we waited for the band instructors came back to have an even bigger impact on us. The last twenty minutes of our time on parade was spent with rain falling upon us. It started as a sprinkle and then as we marched the final block it poured down in a manner that is exclusive to tropical downpours. It was very impressive how the students seemed to be energized by the rain and the band revved it
The ApartmentThe ApartmentThe Apartment

We live in row housing!
up another notch for the grand finale.

After the parade we found a nice place to have a quick bite and then we were hopeful that Adriana would come through with her promise of looking at houses. We tracked her down and we were informed that everyone was heading to the school for lunch and that the people with the house would likely be there. Yes, we did just eat, however, Owen was asking for more and we figured we might as well go along with the hope that we could finally unpack our suitcases completely. We enjoyed a nice meal and were told that the people with the house did not show up and then more rain. Another tropical downpour of significant proportion poured down. Benjamin, who wasn’t eating, decided to enjoy by running around and getting soaked to his underwear. Fortunately the principal volunteered her husband to give us a ride home. With the prospect of having no house upon us we spent Sunday buying groceries, negotiating another week at the apartment, and playing in the pool. We also watched “Ray” on the movie channel. Great movie!! Monday was a holiday and we were supposed to go
Our PoolOur PoolOur Pool

We've been spoiled having a pool at our disposal.
to the school and get our work schedule and teaching assignments AND look at a house. Neither happened as the Director, Adriana, had slept with her contact lenses and was suffering. We went into downtown and looked around at the shops, hanging out at the internet café, and of course chased pigeons at the central park.

Tuesday morning we were up bright and early. It would be our first day of work. We arrived to find that we were the only people at the school at 7:15. The students began arriving on the buses at 7:20 and when the bell rang we had only seen three teachers. As we sat and waited for the school administrator we were across from the grade six room. There was no teacher in the classroom and it seemed rather chaotic. Apparently both Nataghia and I were thinking the same thing and we were correct. That is where I was to start my day. We received our teaching assignments at 7:45 and with no preparation, no idea where the students were in their studies, and no class list with students names we were off to “teach”. Anyone who is reading this and who knows
The SchoolThe SchoolThe School

It doesn't look like much from the front.
me must realize how annoying all of this would be to me. I am a firm believer in establishing a good start to everyday by being early, organized, and prepared. Life just seems easier when you are able to get a positive start to things.

At the conclusion of my teaching day on Tuesday I came home to find out that we were out of rum and did I ever need a drink. My schedule on Tuesday included teaching grade one Language and Spelling, Grade five Language and Spelling, Grade Three Conversation, and each class was either a double or triple period. Now, I like to believe that I can improvise with the best of them but for 80 to 120 minutes in a room with students who don’t speak English!!!! It was a hellish nightmare for me, and I’m sure, the students. Nataghia was granted a one day reprieve as her schedule has her teaching Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. While shopping for my rum I decided to call our contact that had the house near the beach in Playa Flamingo. He wasn’t home but right next to his name was a guy from the Arenal area who needs
Owen in UniformOwen in UniformOwen in Uniform

Owen is ready for his first day of school. He gets to wear the informal uniform.
a tutor. My survival instinct was kicking in. One phone call and I had secured a job, if I wanted it, teaching a five year old and seven year old for one hour each three times per week. Mmmmmm, I wonder if there is a house I could secure in short notice there. Too bad my house guy, who works in Arenal and Playa Flamingo, wasn’t answering. Off to the internet café I go to send him an email begging him to contact me and tell me he has a house for me…ANYWHERE! Upon arriving back at the apartment with my bottle and my news Nataghia was looking at me like I had snapped. I guess we’ll see if she understands after she has her first day. I guess you’ll have to check out the next entry to find out whether we are still in Esparza or off toting our lives around in six suitcases, four backpacks, and four computer bags to another exotic locale. Whatever happens please know we really are enjoying ourselves no matter how tough some days may seem!!;-)



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

The cafeteriaThe cafeteria
The cafeteria

We eat breakfast and lunch here on most days. You can't beat a huge plate of food cooked by someone else for $4-$6 for the whole family.
School PoolSchool Pool
School Pool

Swimming is part of the phys. ed program.
The GymThe Gym
The Gym

Yes the gym is outside...it is covered BUT it is also right next to the grade 3,4, and 1 classrooms. Nothing like a bunch of kids yelling Hya during Karate to distract the learners.


23rd September 2007

I"ll comment more Manana
I think the fruit if a rambutan. How do you say it in Spanish? I have to run.
23rd September 2007

Hang in there!
Hi, When you go somewhere esle for a holiday, one never sees the real life there until you live it. As we have spoken before, working in the Middle East has certainly opened my eyes to the world of travelling and actually living and working with other cultures. You are trully getting the real life experience, kind of makes you appreciate what we have at home. I know that you and Nataghia and the boys can handle anything they throw at you. Have fun. Love T
23rd September 2007

Is it Manana yet?
I'm glad you added the part about having a great time. Please tell me it gets better! I enjoyed the videos. Is Ben really swimming? That's great! We're planning our Thanksgiving here and really missing all of you. Hope to hear good news next blog.
23rd September 2007

Name that Fruit
Hi Ron, great to see your blog. Looks like you're having a GREAT time there... making me really jealous. Things are going fine here -- getting to know my new school and attending meetings like crazy (just so that I won't get too comfortable and/or caught up on my work, apparently). Hey, your fruit is one my favorites when I go to the Philippines. It's called "Rambutan" over there (pronounced ram-boo-TAN), and I sometimes see it in the Chinese grocery store in Saskatoon sold under the same name. I brought some to Consul last year and told the kids it was an insect with an eyeball inside. They loved it. Hey... enjoy the time down there! Take care. Bryan
23rd September 2007

bueno!
Nice to see you guys are off on the adventure of a lifetime! Bravo. The fruit in the picture is called a RAMBUTAN - and is in the Lychee family. They're pretty tasty, eh? Do you have any geckos living in your apt with you?
23rd September 2007

Rambutan
Thanks for the information...I´ll get teh spelling and post the spanish name for it. At ten dollars for a bottle of rum it is easy to handle anything that comes our way. Yes it is frustrating but as Terry comments we are up to handling it and we really do appreciate our priviledged life in Canada. Ben said this morning it was time to go swimming at ¨seven o´clock. He tells me is a fish....Nice to hear from everyone and also nice to see so many people know what that friut is called..I´ve seen it before maybe in your grocery bag Bryan but have never really remember it. I can tell you one thing I don´t miss about Canada is all the meeting to keep me away from the important stuff. Who coming to visit
25th September 2007

Mamon
The fruit is called mamon and it very popular.

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0681s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb