Surf's Up


Advertisement
Published: May 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I knew that I could camp at Dominical so I made that my target even though it wasn't far away because I knew that there was some fun stuff to check out along the way. Or so I thought. It turned out that Manuel Antonio National Park was closed so that I didn't get to do. I went for a swim in the ocean instead. It wasn't very refreshing due to the water being dreadfully warm but I had fun playing in the surf. There were a ton of fancy restaurants just outside the park so I decided to try one of them and ended up paying entirely too much for a hot dog. As gringofied and touristy as this area was, I'd like to come back someday and give it another chance because it was pretty.

I drove on to my campsite which turned out to be a little different than any other camping experience I had on this trip. I was instructed to pitch my tent on wooden deck that sat atop the regular accomodation. There were about 10 other tents already set up in a row on this deck. The majority of them, I think, were rented out to guests who wanted to save a buck but didn't have a tent. These tents were crap but that didn't matter because there was a roof overhead. I sheepishly set up my tent at the end of the row with no stakes and no rainfly.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.169s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1303s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb