Tortuguero National Park


Advertisement
Published: November 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hi from the rain forest. (no I’m not tarzan!)

A nice 2 days trip to Tortuguero, it reminds me a lot of the Amazon rain forest
Finally I meet a Belgian citizen. Yes! Or better ‘Ja wel’.
On the bus to Tortuguero, I meet Dries (from Hasselt - Limburg). We will keep in touch!
The trip was long but it was nice to see the rain forest and we have stopped at Del Monte (banana plantation) and at a beautiful garden with a lot of flowers, butterflies and red frogs.
During the boat trip starts the rain and I was pretty wet after few minutes because I didn’t bring my jacket :-(
The channels on Tortuguero are larger than the ones in the Amazon but we could see some crocodiles, frogs, caimans, a lot of birds but also 3 turtles. Our guide brought a turtle to the boot and we could make some nice pictures.
I slept at the village and the food was really good. There was also a football field near by where the locals played football even with all the rain.
At night I went with the group to the beach to search for turtle eggs but we just saw some broken eggs probably done by predators.

See you on the next stop


Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0533s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb