Whitewater Rafting


Advertisement
Published: April 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Volcano near PacuareVolcano near PacuareVolcano near Pacuare

I know these aren´t whitewater but they´re the only pics I have of this trip for now!
From La Fortuna we bussed it back to San Jose and went to bed early in preparation for the next day: whitewater rafting along the Pacuare River (meant to be amongst the top 5 whitewater rafting rivers in the world).

I was personally a bit apprehensive (this was all James's idea!), but it ended up being a thrill of a life time, and now we want to do it again! The river was in the middle of nowhere - a dense jungle full of bird life and in the midst, this soaring river. We started off with class 1 (basic ripples), but by the end were paddling hard against violent class 4 rapids. It was exhilirating. James and I each took the helm and behind us were some Dutch guys and in the back our guide, Alejuandro. At one point our boat became stuck on a rock and Alejuandro had to battle the river to free us, after which we went flying over waves and slamming in to aggressive water holes. Despite the thrill, we couldn't stop smiling.

At some point, the river became calm and narrow with large canyons and waterfalls on either side. We all jumped into the river and let it float us downstream while we enjoyed the breathtaking scenery and savoured this once-in-a-lifetime experience. It was bliss!

After 3 hours on the river we were fed a substantial yummy meal of refried beans, rice and fruit before making our way back to San Jose.

We went to bed early and at 3:30am hopped into a taxi for the plane to take us to Roatan off Honduras in the Bay Islands (Caribbean), where I am now sipping a Margarita in the sunshine writing this blog! Jealous?

Advertisement



5th April 2006

Yeeessss very! Cant wait to join you for some cocktails La Femme Nikitin! x
8th April 2006

Rios Tropicales?
Was the company you went with rios tropicales? I used to work for them a few months ago.If it is the Alejandro I am thinking of, he is young, tico, from Paraiso? Same guy? He was awesome to work with, the whole company. I have rafted and kayaked a lot of rivers, and I would have to say the Pacuare is my favorite. Pura Vida
12th April 2006

Yes, that´s the same Alejuandro! He was wicked - saved us from what would have been dramatic capsize into the rapids!
13th April 2006

What the bleedin hell is going on ere then?
Hello! Was browsing and stumbled upon you two! How very strange. Hope you're both having a scream! GUess what I'm doing tomorrow - off to see Jonathan Woss again! Hurrah! Though it won't be as much fun as when we all went. I'll send the ole Woss-meister your bestest regards shall I. I'll tell him his theme tune is in serious need of a revamp and that I know just the lass to fix it for him. God I need to go to bed. Don't you just hate it when you're suddenly awake at 1.28AM in the bleedin morning!!! Jeez. Anyway, NODDY, Nodster, Noddy-noddy-noo-noo, give me a call when you're back on civilised British territory. Oodles of love noodles, Linda xx P.S. CRAP joke: Q: Why do people call it P.M.T.? A: Cos Mad Cow Disease was already taken. HA HA HA HA HA!
16th April 2006

PINDAKAAS!
Pinda you¨re Nutty Nuts McNutterson!! Can´t believe you saw Woss again so soon!! Please do put a word in for me to compose his new theme tune. I´ll do it for a couple of quid! Lorna and I will write to you when she gets here monday! YAY!!! BYE BYE!! xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0492s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb