A beautiful day again


Advertisement
Published: January 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Adapting the Felting ProcessAdapting the Felting ProcessAdapting the Felting Process

I ordered some supplies and special felting needles for the group of women who come to the centre and make things for fun and for sale. No needles yet, so we improvised.
Plenty hot but today we have lovely breezes cooling our office. The mornings are so cheerful, bright dappled sunlight in the garden around the Learning Centre.

It was my turn to cook yesterday, and I remember my first turn, when I was attempting to open a can of something. I had to dig out my big perennial garden knife I brought with me, as it has huge pointy ends on it. My Tico friend Kattia helped with that, as I am a bit out of practice in safely gouging out a hole in the top of a can. We all suggested that a can opener be ordered, and Kattia said we'd have to give lessons to the Costa Rican women who give the cooking classes on how to operate it.
So many times when I go to start some activity I have to make adaptations to do without a handy gadget that most Canadian households take for granted. Scissors are rare as hen's teeth, and I have to borrow the only sharp ones around here from Kattia. If any are left on a desk they disappear. Not stolen, just "borrowed" by someone. Like me!! I am probably the worst of
Using a wire mesh to roll the feltUsing a wire mesh to roll the feltUsing a wire mesh to roll the felt

and this lady brought a towel with her just by chance.
them all! I CANNOT do two things at once, like talk, and put something away. I have a knot of keys hanging around my neck at all times, like a jail guard, so I don't put them down, and I use them right from the lanyard.

The Costa Rican people seem to me, to be such a gentle, caring group. If you have met someone once, the next time they see you, they kiss your cheek. Gender not an issue. My ladies all give me a smooch when they come in for the craft group. At the bus, the men usually wait until all the women are on board before they climb on, and I see young men and women giving up their seats regularly, to older folks or women with children or someone with alot of things to carry. I kept telling Vladimir the first week I was here, "Everyone is just so nice!"
And, people are happy! They don't yearn for more stuff. I asked Vladi this morning if his mom has a can opener. Nope. Well maybe that's something I can bring home for her some day if I go to the supermarket. He doubted that
and at the end of the afternoonand at the end of the afternoonand at the end of the afternoon

I had this to clean up. I keep all the wool supplies I brought from Canada in - get this - A COOLER I found in the closet we cleaned out.
she'd need one. "We do it the Costa Rican way!!" and he imitated stabbing the metal.
Curtains and shower curtains are hung on narrow aluminium poles. And how are they attached to the walls? With a wire hammered into the wall, sticking out a bit and a loop twisted into it. I have knocked the shower curtain down a couple of times, yanking it across with a bit too much vigour. Everyone is used to sudden noises, no big deal. I must take a pic of one of those sometime soon.
Off to my bus!

Pura Vida!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Anita the catAnita the cat
Anita the cat

is a very friendly cat. She loves to jump on you and press her head into your hand. A few times she has come into my room by squeezing through the roof or hopping through the wide spaces between the security bars on my window.
Couldn't walk byCouldn't walk by
Couldn't walk by

without snapping
How to keep antsHow to keep ants
How to keep ants

out of your garbage. The bags are hauled out on garbage day only. Often a few remnants remain.
My first poison dart frog!My first poison dart frog!
My first poison dart frog!

They are really tiny. And gorgeous! He was hopping along in the leaves when I came along a seldom-used garden path.
Selve Verde eco lodgeSelve Verde eco lodge
Selve Verde eco lodge

is a massive place, we are just an appendage of it. They have a nice bar, and dining room. We get discounts there, and on Fridays can use the pool if we aren't busy. I have a group Friday afternoons.
Have I ever mentioned how muchHave I ever mentioned how much
Have I ever mentioned how much

I love pineapples? Or pinas as they are called here. And my fav drink, colada.


Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0811s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb