La Fortuna


Advertisement
Published: March 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hurray for the 5 star backpackers resort that we had read all about with a fabulous pool and paradise for backpakcers at a cheap price. Unfortunately, when we arrived we discovered that 3 days earlier they had decided to go for more money and turned the communal kitchen into a restaurant so we checked out and went somewhere else. We spent 3 days relaxing and cruising the town at the foot of the volcano. And it was here that we went to THE most beautiful hot springs resort imaginable! This is where movie stars must go! The Baldi Hot Springs Resort cost mucho denero to get in but was all worth it when we saw the huge romantic jungle garden with 12 scorching hot waterfall pools scattered throughout. Each pool had a small waterfall, chairs, and pathways through the dense garden leaves and exotic lighting. There were huge Mayan ruins with water pouring from the top and swim up bars in every location. There were 2 little waterslides that looked rather steep but short and no one was on them so we decided to give it a try. Our first clue should have been the lifeguard at the top snickering as we sat down... This slide should have had a warning on it and no one should be allowed down it with out a helmet and protective gear. My body has never travelled so fast outside of a vehicle. Quite the thrill but too much for me, I snapped my neck and couldn't move for a bit so we tried some relaxing in the hottest water but the pain was bad so we went home where I tried to drug myself to sleep. No luck and it was getting worse, I could hardly lift my arms over my head so I went for a massage where some little old Costa Rican lady rode me until every muscle I had felt like rubber and I was cured. We also got lucky enough to meet a couple in our hostel that had a rental vehicle and were going our direction so we hopped in with them and had a great day touring around before arriving in our final destination, Allajuela.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0463s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb