Popcorn, quinoa, broccoli, garlic, onions & dark chocolate


Advertisement
Published: March 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hmmm...did you notice a trend with the blog title this evening? Food! The MR (Montezuma's Revenge) I've had now for over two weeks has subsided enough that food is tasting better and my stomach is calmer. So today I ate a several foods I've been avoiding for a long time. Of course it just so happens that these are some of my favorite foods but they don't mix well with MR.

I had popcorn with my lunch then for dinner I cooked up sauteed some onions & garlic, added water and quinoa and simmered. I then microwaved some broccoli that I cooked in the microwave that I added to the cooked quinoa. It was so flavorful! After both lunch & dinner I had a little dark chocolate! Oh happy day!

I actually took two walks into town today. The one late this morning was to go to the bank and the grocery store. It must have been at least in the upper 80's. Then late this afternoon I walked over to the Health Food Store where I have been sharing information and some green tea with the owner. She's interested in carrying some gluten-free items so I've been sharing about some of them in the states. She's a Tica named Seidy, who used to live in Massachusetts where she has a husband still. They have three children that are college age. Anyway she moved back down to Costa Rica with her children so they could attend college and not break the bank. Her husband is still living in Mass. She's been back down here for something like 7 years and only sees him once a year!!! She said that since she is so very busy with her business ventures (she has more than just the health food store) and family she doesn't think about missing him that much. Her parents live here as well as numerous siblings & cousins. She used to suffer terribly in the cold Mass. winters due to arthritis but those symptoms have completely gone away since living in Atenas. She's not the first person that has mentioned such improvement.

While Seidy waited on customer after customer we managed to weave in some conversation about her family, busy work schedule, gluten free items, and her thoughts on business ideas for the area. I picked out some gluten free snack bars for my coming flights and ate a coconut ice cream bar in between our conversations. Just before I left another Tica came in and our conversations turned to the weather at La Paz Waterfalls & Nature Park, where I hope to go on Monday with Barb and maybe Maria Elena. I was given a head's up that since it's located in a rainforest it can be cool and rainy. Probably similar to Arenal. I'm still considering going since it would be a fun last trip to take before leaving Costa Rica.

I look forward to being able to share more photos with you once I get to Maryland, which is just days away!

Ciao,
Barb





Advertisement



7th March 2011

She only sees her husband once a year? Strange marriage. Each to his own. Glad you are feeling better!
8th March 2011

yep very strange
indeed!

Tot: 0.178s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0913s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb