Mountain Bikes and Hanging Bridges


Advertisement
Costa Rica's flag
Central America Caribbean » Costa Rica » Alajuela » Arenal
December 26th 2006
Published: January 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Best View of Arenal YetBest View of Arenal YetBest View of Arenal Yet

And yet...still clouds. But at least we could imagine what the summit must look like. This was the view when we arrived at Arenal Hanging Bridges.
Today was the fabled "Christmas Present Biking Trip." We met our Bike Arenal guide, Hector (or maybe Edgar, we weren't sure), at the front desk at 8 am and picked up a couple of teenagers at the Montana de Fuego hotel. From there the four of us were driven out to the turnoff into Arenal National Park where we began our bike ride. The terrain was a little rough - mostly small hills with lots of rocks and bumps (and the trademark Costa Rican potholes). But the bikes were great and helped minimize the jolts. Everyone was patient with me as we travelled to El Castillo, and then on the river and back to our picnic spot. We enjoyed bananas, watermelon and wafers at the edge of Lake Arenal with a nice view of the (still) cloudy volcano. I didn't make it far on the last segment of the ride (when my walking hills to riding hills ratio changed from 1:4 to 5:0 I knew it was time to throw in the towel and take the van. Not much later I was joined by the kid from Portland, ("I mountain bike ALL the time!") as we watched the kid from Tucson
Lake ArenalLake ArenalLake Arenal

This was our view from the picnic spot on our bike ride.
struggle up the last few hills. At least we got to see Howler and spider monkeys. Wes and Tucson made it all the way to Lake Arenal Dam.
From there it was back to the hostel and back out again to Arenal Hanging Bridges. At the park entrance we were rewarded with our best view of the volcano yet and...blue skies and sunshine! If you squinted you could imagine what the top of the volcano looked like. The bridges were a lot of fun, and even though the suspension bridges made me nervous at times (like when Wes pointed things out like missing screws), we enjoyed the rainforest immensely. About halfway through we got caught in a torrential downpour. (Dear Dad: Thanks so much for the fancy camera bag. It came with it's own little poncho that kept all of my photography parts nice and dry when I was not so lucky.)
Now I can barely walk (stupid exercise!), so after a rest and a walk ino town for supplies we're chilling in our room till dinner.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Woo!  Fruit!Woo!  Fruit!
Woo! Fruit!

Wes enjoying the fruit and wafer spread at our Lake Arenal picnic.
Are we there yet?Are we there yet?
Are we there yet?

Wes at the Lake Arenal Dam, 1/2 of the 50% of bikers on our tour to make it he full 26 km.
It's a bridge.  It hangs.It's a bridge.  It hangs.
It's a bridge. It hangs.

One of many hanging bridges we walked across in the rainforest.
Check me out - I'm artistic!Check me out - I'm artistic!
Check me out - I'm artistic!

I managed to catch Wes turning back to see if I'd fallen off the bridge.


9th January 2007

So jealous!
How come you didn't take home any coatis as pets? I want one. I want ten! Too cute for words. Loving reading about your adventures so far!
9th January 2007

Wes
Tell him to SMILE!!!!!! He has a nice smile (what little I've seen of it). Great picture of Wes looking back on the bridge!
9th January 2007

Must.....travel.....soon....
9th January 2007

Coati Pets
They really weren't as cute in person - more like giant racoon rodent things. And one tore open the leg of Portland kid while trying to get the banana in his hand. None for me thanks!
9th January 2007

He does smile!
I think I just didn't post those pictures...they all included beer. ;-)
19th January 2007

Nature in it's full expession... My travel to Costa Rica
Even before getting on the plane, I couldn’t control my excitement. I had heard so many wonderful things about the Costa Rican beaches and their particular nature. That is why I had decided to visit both coasts, Pacific and Caribbean during my vacation. For 15 days I traveled trouble free on public transport throughout Costa Rica’s coastline, getting to know a variety of fascinating beaches. Each one having a particular type of sand and vegetation. The Caribbean Sea is unique and this particular coastline is home to a vivid afro Jamaican culture. The colors and the smells are unforgettable, where the natural beauty of the area can only be compared with the flavors of their cuisine, unique in the country both original and delicious. From the coconut flavored “rice and beans” platter to the Caribbean “patty” dumplings. The Pacific is also a very diverse area. You can find all different kinds of beaches where the vegetation grows right up to the coast. For example, in Manuel Antonio National Park, the tree branches from the rain forest provide shelter from the sun as you sit on the sand, the only thing one has to worry about are the whiteface monkeys that like to eat your food. These adorable and friendly natives tend to befriend tourists while their friends sneak behind you and take your snacks; it’s quite funny actually. There is so much to see in Costa Rican beaches. It is very different from anything I have ever seen, and I am eager to see more of Costa Rica. My next trip will probably be focused on volcanoes, rainforests and bird watching, if I get the chance!

Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 84; dbt: 0.0927s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb