chugging along


Advertisement
Published: January 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So, I haven't updated in a while merely because I still don't have much positive to say and it seems silly to list all my grievances. But I will try my best.

I will hopefully be able to start working a little more independently soon. I am learning how to let the jaguars in and out of their cage from their night cage (doors on a pulley system) although i don't really know how someone couldn't figure out how to do that... I'm also keeping Leo's keys now when he's not working, so I don't have to wait around outside the cages until someone opens them for me. Of course, I have little hope that I'll ACTUALLY be trusted to do anything considering I am still frequently told that I am cutting a banana incorrectly.

Yesterday the vet came down and we tranquelized our howler monkey in quarantine and moved her out to the jungle pre-release cage with the other two howlers. I got to touch her while she was asleep, so that was sort of cool.

Today Leo and I went in a kayak to collect browse for the monkeys. (For Grandma: we are collecting a lot of stuff that no one really knows the name for. I know we're collecting Cecropia, Fig, Brie Brie, a sandpaper-y vine and a sweet smelling vine with curly cues). I'm not really sure about the spelling on any of those. Anyways, kayaking was nice and Leo was thrilled that I actually knew how to kayak. My highlight of the day was seeing a large iguana on the bank... Leo didn't think it was that exciting.

After we drove back from kayaking, Marike (i've been misspelling her name), Leo and I went out to one of the bars nearby. It's a very close walk... about 5-10 minutes down the road. It was pretty funny... It's really just someone's backyard and you sit on the rocks and talk with the little kids of the family and watch the packs of dogs and puppies and chickens and baby chicks wandering around.

I tried to take pictures the other day, but my camera battery was dead, so I will charge it and hopefully post some pictures soon.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0465s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb