Soon to depart


Advertisement
Published: December 31st 2007
Edit Blog Post

So I am soon to depart for my 7 weeks in Belize. I'm heading out to intern at the Wildlife Care Center of Belize. I'll be there for the entire winter internship term of school. Hopefully the last few days will be spent meeting up and traveling with mom and susan (unfortunately it just overlaps with the time dad will be in Italy, so he won't be joining us).

My trip seems to have mostly sorted itself out. I will be spending the night right outside of Belize City and then a day of bus trips until I arrive at the Wildlife Care Center.

I'm under the impression that my tasks will mostly include working with the two captive (and unreleasable) jaguars as well as several tucans and other birds. And working to prepare a group of monkeys (howlers and spider monkeys) for their release. I'll be involved in behavioral observations and collecting natural foods and I can only assume cleaning up a lot of poop.

I'm not sure if there will be other volunteers, but I know that I saw the woman I'm working for advertising for research interns, so perhaps there will be some of them there as well (most likely grad students I'm guessing).
I'm hoping that I will have reliable internet access while I'm there and can update you all as I find out what I'm actually doing.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0477s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb