Open Water Scuba Certification


Advertisement

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


April 22, Wednesday

Happy birthday to me. I've never been 51 before, so I'm not sure how to act, but I'll just keep on faking it as I've done for the last 50 years and everything will work out fine. I decided to sign up for the Open Water Scuba course at the Splash Dive Shop. Cost is $350 USD and it includes all gear, books and 4 dives out on the reef. Today was all academic work, I read some of the manual and watched 5 videos. Patty, the owner, who has certificates plastered all over the walls of both "offices", including one that praises her for having 100 certificates, is my academic instructor. She quizzed me after each video section, then gave me a final quiz at the end. PADI, the sanctioning body for diving instruction, has done a great job creating the instruction system, using all the good pedagogical techniques. I got 100% on everything (brag brag). This all lasted until 7:30 this evening. I got a shirt, and a nice wooden bookmark for birthday presents today.

April 23, Thursday

Down to the dive shop at 8:15 for fitting of gear and in the boat at 9:00. The plan was to visit two places out on the reef near an island called Ranguna Caye. Four other clients came along, 2 were snorkelers, and besides Leon, the boat skipper there were 4 other employees, Prince the Dive Master, two guides, and Devin, my instructor. We headed out into some fairly choppy seas. The reef is about 15 to 20 miles offshore at this point in Belize so the wind and waves get to build up a bit again after pushing over the reef. Once at Ranguna Caye, the snorkelers, Devin and myself got off the boat, and the rest of the scuba group went on out to deeper waters. Devin took me through several practical tests while in 6 to 10 feet of water, then we dove to about 15 to 20 feet and worked our way along the coral reef for a while. Most of the "tests" were fairly straight forward such as filling the mask with water and emptying it, removing the vest and tank and putting it back on again, and the procedures for sharing air with each other. The reef was gorgeous, of course. After lunch and about 1 1/2 hrs on the island, which actually had a little shack restaurant and restrooms, the divers all got back into the boat and we were dropped off in deeper water. Devin and I did some more practical tests, and then cruised along another section of reef where he pointed out lots of marine life. We saw turtles, rays, various starfish, lobster, crabs, neon green spotted eels, and a myriad of coral types. Once back on the boat, we headed for shore, with the skipper doing a great job of negotiating the chop. Evening meal at one of the beachfront restaurants, and in to bed a bit more tired than usual.

April 24, Friday

Today the sea was getting rough, our tiny ship was tossed, but Leon showed his skill and we made it to Laughing Bird Caye without getting lost. Our first dive was off the boat and after more practical testing, we again swam our way along some beautiful coral beds, finding all kinds of neat marine life and fanciful corals. After another lunch and rest period, we dropped off into 60 feet of water, and did the last of the tests. Devin shook my hand, and wrote on his slate " Congrats" so that meant I'd passed the course. We swam along an amazing wall of coral at about 60 feet, though the bottom looked like it was another 15 feet below us. I'm restricted to basically 60 feet until I get a certain number of different types of dives logged in my log book. Once back in the boat, everyone congratulated me, and Devin asked " You know what this means right"? I said something like it meant I still had lots to learn, and he said "No, it means you have to buy the beer tonight". Got to have our priorities straight here. The boat ride home was memorable, as the waves had built even more, Leon was definitely working hard to keep us from being swamped. Ashore, Deb greeted me, took pictures, and gave me another shirt, this one says " Placencia, a quaint little drinking town with a diving problem" and has a dive flag on it. She is a sweetie.

April 25, Saturday

I had signed up for the dive to Silk Caye today, and Deb was going to come along to snorkel, but the state of the ocean was much to rough for the boats, and they had scrubbed the dive. Deb and I walked around, chatted with many of the locals whom we had come to know, had coffee, all the lazy, island things one finds to do when one has nothing to do. Hopefully tomorrow I can dive again.

April 26, Sunday

Another scrubbed dive day, another lazy wander around some, read some, day. This is our last day here in Placencia, so in the evening we began the pack up process. With 3 extra shirts, and some jewelry gifts extra, I'm not sure I'll be able to fit everything in the usual places.




Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Nope, just an imposterNope, just an imposter
Nope, just an imposter

How old are you if you remember that show?


Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0691s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb