Belize from a few years ago


Advertisement
Published: September 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

In going through some photo CDs that I have, I discovered pictures that I'd never placed on my computer or shared with you.

Turner and I had traveled to Belize in 2005 to visit friend Rodger Christopher.

We briefly experienced Belize City before traveling and being chauffeured by Rodger to his base of Sittee River Village.

The towns of Dangriga and Hopkins Village were part of our experience as well. Unfortunately I didn't take pictures at Mama Noots where we had a blast while at the Mayflower Bocawina National Park.

Rodger has the Sittee River Lodge and invites visitors. The web address is http://sitteeriverlodge.com/index.html. You will love the area. This is not one of the resort areas. Sittee River is just as great but not the coast.

The area in this part of Belize sports Mayan ruins, jungle setting and opportunities for hiking, biking, scuba, fishing, diving, river rides (neighbors took me croc sighting - that's a story all on its own!) and relaxing in a quite environment.

There are many websites on Belize. An interesting one to me is http://www.travelbelize.org/about-belize/general/about-belize.html. Look around on the web - there's many sites of info on this amazing area.

In 2006, Sittee River village fell victim to a pretty drastic flood. Rodger had supplied me with pictures of the local area after the water receded.

Since then, more natural disasters have affected Belize and their location almost acts as a beacon for those storms with a westward route from the Atlantic Ocean.

I hope you enjoy the snapshots taken by myself and Rodger.



Additional photos below
Photos: 61, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Dangriga airportDangriga airport
Dangriga airport

Forgive my finger on the lens please.


18th September 2009

Croc Sighting!!
Patt, I hope you stay well away from the water! Crocs have been known to go after prey just walking near the water. They also can swim in salt water. I don't thing Belize is for me! Be careful out there. Jeff
18th September 2009

Crocs are safe from me!
I can't swim so don't even dip my toes in the waters. Even in the Yucatan! I was terrified on that boat trip that turned out hours longer than the guys promised me. So goes Belize! I knew I wasn't in real danger though because the guys (especially Turner) knew that I would/ could kill them before I died!

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0566s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb