Belize - Paradise Islands


Advertisement
Published: August 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well guys I have finally managed to get up to real time....I am sitting here in my hammock typing this entry from Caye Caulker in Belize. The weather is glorious, I have a 5 star hotel with airconditioning and a pool.....it's a hard life this budget travel lark. Ok so it's not exactly budget travel....but hey you only live once.
On our way down to Belize City we stopped of at Orange Walk to have a boat trip to Lamanai ruins. This one was actually quite cool and less manicured than the rest...so I got to do my Indiana Jones impression after all.
Caye Caulker is an Island off the coast of Belize City.....it's motto is go slow, and after a few days on the Island it sucks you in to its way of thinking, getting up late, lazing by the pool, going out for Lobster dinner is sooooo exhausting!!!!!
The Island is only about a mile wide and about 2 miles long, there are no cars, only golf buggys and the streets are made of sand.
We generally get rain at night and the days are glorious.....although I think we had the tail end of a hurricane night before last....it was well windy!!!!! Poor old Andy and Kirsty are taking it in turns to look after the truck in Belize city.....that night Andy was up to his knees in water and sandflies he!he!
Six of us decided to take up the 5 star treatment, the others have rented a house with a big veranda. It's a good social atmosphere and we have had a couple of barbeques.....it is great to go back to my airconditioning afterwards though.
I went over to another Island, Ambergris Caye, and realised that the last time I was here we stopped at the Island for lunch!!!!
Tomorrow we are off to Guatemala, back to bush camping, cooking and sleeping in a tent.....as you can imagine I am looking forward to that.............not!!!!




Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Lamanai (24)Lamanai (24)
Lamanai (24)

armadilloooooooo
Beer BottlesBeer Bottles
Beer Bottles

I think someone has been drinking too much


Tot: 0.183s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 12; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0669s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb