white sand, sunscreen, and .....water!


Advertisement
Published: February 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Wow haven’t updated for quite some time now. This past week of school actually managed to get pretty intense, with three midterm exams and an assignment due. But I got through it, and am currently laying in a hammock on the beach of beautiful Caye Caulker. This island is one of the only places I have been to where to can ask someone what they did that day, and ‘absolutly nothing’ is a totally acceptable answer. Although this caye is a little bit too touristy for my liking, the super-chill-paradise vibe is has going on totally makes up for it. It is a place where no one wears shoes, drinking gallon upon gallon of water a day is a must (which I learned the hard way), and after being here for about three hours, you’ll feel like you’ve been here for months from all the friendly people you’ll stop and talk to. This island is currently packed with Vancouverites trying to escape the Olympic craziness, and last night the Canadian-owned sports bar on the island was packed with fans watching the Canada/US hockey game.

Danielle, Jon, and I left Belmopan Friday after one of the hardest, meanest tests I have ever written, and upon our arrival here, we were happily greeted by the white sand, warm ocean breeze, and the first thing you see when you arrive on the island, which is a mosaic sign on the dock saying “Caye Caulker, Go Slow”. After finding a place to stay, and a wonderful fresh fish meal at Wishing Willy’s, we went out dancing, and the next morning we were up bright and early to start our open water dive course!!!! When we actually got in the water (by a back roll off the boat, I might add (cough,cough)) it was absolutely unreal. I was pretty cautious taking my first breath underwater, but when the cool air come rushing into my lungs on demand, I became totally relaxed and began exploring this entirely new world. Some people say they wouldn’t bother with diving cuz snorkeling is way cheaper and also sweet….I kinda used to be one of those people, but I am so happy that I decided to enter into the world of diving because it honestly is very different than snorkeling. You are so close to the fish, rays, lobsters, and crabs, and being able to stay underwater for so long, and run your fingers through the sand while you swim across the bottom is an experience in itself.

Like I said before, I learned that you have to constantly be drinking copious amounts of water on a regular basis here the hard way. Too much sun and not enough water yesterday while we were out on the boat ended me up getting fairly sick. Having to get up in the middle of the night several times to be sick, and then fainting and hitting your head on the counter top is really not my idea of a good time. Needless to say, I am not finishing my last couple dives today, but instead will be them in two weeks when I come back to the caye with my mom, Mish, and Scotty!!! I am beyond excited to have my people here, and it will be perfect timing for them to come. Whats even possibly better is that Mish is actually arriving in Belize tomarrow already! I cant believe it. Anyways, enough blogging, I am going to finish enjoying my dive-free day (tear) having a little snooze in a hammock in a little hut over the ocean, then maybe take a last stroll through town….if I feel like it.
Hausta Luega mi amigos!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1136s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb