Belize Day 2


Advertisement
Published: December 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Dead LionfishDead LionfishDead Lionfish

Dead Lionfish on the end of my spear.
Cloudy here this morning, but has improved as the day goes on. Right now sunshine, blue skies and 80 degrees. Did 2 dives today with Reef Adventures (great dive outfit if anyone is coming this way to dive.......ask for Michael). I realized one of my goals today and killed my first Lionfish!!! For those of you who think I'm some kind of barbarian with a goal to kill a fish, you need to understand that the Lionfish are killing the reef fish in the Carribean. They are quite beautiful as you can see by the picture but they lay 20-30,000 eggs per month and eat 10-20X their body weight a day. They are a spiny, venomous fish that eat fry (baby fish) and which of course greatly reduces the numbers of the Carribean reef fish. So for me, killing Lionfish is a quest I'm not soon to give up.

It is really quite beautiful here, and the people are the friendliest people I have ever met. They seem to survive by selling their street wares and local cuisine. Prices in the grocery stores are very high, for instance a small jar of peanut butter is $5.40 and a bag of potato chips is over $6.00.

Well until tomorrow......................................

Advertisement



Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0728s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb