Sanctuary & sunset


Advertisement
Barbados' flag
Central America Caribbean » Barbados
September 12th 2008
Published: September 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Day #4 - September 5th

After my horseback ride, I had some choices for that afternoon. I could go to Bridgetown and browse the shops or I could go to Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary. I wasn't interested in buying more "dust collectors" for the house, nor am I into jewels. So, the better choice was the Sanctuary. Wise choice!

The sanctuary sits on over 35 acres. It has the island's largest inland lake along with ponds and wading pools, swampy marshes and mangroves, observation huts, horticulture exhibits, and two enormous walk-through aviaries filled with brilliantly colored parrots, macaws, flamingos, and ibis.

After touring the sanctuary, I returned to my hotel for a siesta.

I thought I was hearing things, but when I leaned my head out the door, we were having a Caribbean downpour. I was excited! I just knew that the sunset would be incredibly awesome, they usually are after a good rain storm. Wow - was I right! It seemed everyone hit the beach to take photos.

The only thing I didn't do on Friday night, was go to Oistin's Fish Fry. It's a popular event, but there is a next time.



Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



2nd April 2009

Sadly, Graeme Hall Sanctury is now closed, and there are no immediate plans for it to re-open.
7th June 2009

Oh no, that's not good. I really enjoyed visiting the Sanctuary. While I was there, there weren't too many visitors.

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0493s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb