Aruba, August 2010


Advertisement
Aruba's flag
Central America Caribbean » Aruba
August 21st 2010
Published: August 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hi all,

Greetings from Aruba ~

Trip started early morning with a news story about a airline crash on a Caribbean Island and a trip to the airport (thank you Annette). This followed with a very long flight from JFK to Aruba with a charming, hyperactive 3 year old whom decided to kick my chair for the entire 5 hour flight ~ JOY

But I landed & checked in and I will let me photo's speak for me ~ Thus has started my detox from DC ~

I just wanted/needed to get far away and step out of my box once again ~ Years ago I inherited a cute little quote "The next best thing to being Rich is traveling as though you are!" and this trip is no exception ~

Calling this my Castaway meets Anti-Cheers meets Non-Natalie Holloway Getaway ~ Thank you Lise ~

Now when I told my mother where I was going she said "that sounds familiar". I told her the Natalie reference and stated that she was scared now ~ I laughed and said I'm not 18, blond or have big tits so I think I will be fine ~ but mothers will be mothers ~ LOL

Have had days full of fun, sun, snorkeling, and freaking out at the para sail launch ~ they take you into the middle of the ocean (so it seems) and open the parachute and release the winch slowly...but once you are up ~ it is amazingly cool ~ however, camera decided to pick and inconvenient time to die ~

Had an unsuccessful go at wind surfing, however for the exactly 3.5 minutes I was upright, the cameraman got a shot ~

Took an afternoon/evening tour with a few new friends I happen to meet/make on the "party bus" I think I'm too old for all that ~ but it was an adventure to say the least ~

Aside from that, hanging at the beach reading & swimming has been great. I have met some really nice people from all over - 3 such ladies made me think of my Dad - he has really big hair and says that the women compliment him all the time ~ well, since we are sporting the same genetic rinse, I owe this compliment to him ~ They were from Columbia which is just a short flight over and they loved my hair ~ so thanx dad ~

I've also found a new career ~ a women on a raft was attempting to reenact her version of Tom Hanks "Castaway" and the current was pulling her out ~ her friend asked her husband to fetch her and he was not feeling it so I volunteered and pulled Tonya back in ~ she was grateful and bought me a drink ~ so my new shingle reads "Will rescue for alcohol" ~

Seems I'm a bit on the red side (even with my 30 block) - guess my undocumented Cherokee coming is through ~ I am taking a break from the Sun and doing some sight seeing and window shopping ~ No power today....so out and about seems to be the only option ~

Have been exploring the local non-tourist eateries ~ very good food ~ my fav would be Wacky Wahoo's, best fish to date and for a great price ~ Upon recommendation, I've also tried the following: Chalet Suisse, Chef's Table, Aqua Grill, Tomato Charlies & Madame Jeannette's all good in their own right. Lets just say that "abby" is very happy ~

Of all the things I've done ~ I have to say, sitting on the waters edge watching the sunset has been the best ~

Hope you enjoy the pix ~

Till the next trip ~

Travlin Terry


Additional photos below
Photos: 34, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Dead CoralDead Coral
Dead Coral

On land that use to be in the ocean ~
California Lighthouse w/Party BusCalifornia Lighthouse w/Party Bus
California Lighthouse w/Party Bus

Now how did the Party Bus get in there???


Tot: 0.25s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0575s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb