The last 2 days


Advertisement
Asia
February 26th 2012
Published: February 26th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday was a chilled out day. I had really settled into the pace of life at the jungle retreat. I made friends with a guy called Wynn who was a really interesting bloke and I expect we'll meet up at some point back in the UK. He's from Oxford and I've said I'll put him in touch with another friend of mine about some IT consultancy work.
I'd also made friends with a guy called Theo who was from South Africa. He was really interesting too and he's gone travelling to gain some perspective on his career. His girlfriend is travelling out to meet him for last 2 weeks of his travels and he plans to propose to her whilst she's out there. If you're reading this buddy, good luck mate.. Hope it goes well! I went for a jog at about 6:45 am and covered a distance of about 2 miles. Even on that short distance I've managed to get some pretty nasty blisters. I went for breakfast and relaxed so much that I missed my shuttle bus so I took the afternoon one instead and went to the Rain Forest Discovery Centre. This is a protected area of land covering about 2000 acres woth lots of trails inside. On realising that there were all manor of things such as giant forest ants, vipers and some pretty nasty looking spiders I thought wearing flip flops was a big mistake to make. It was an interesting place but I had to keep my eyes pealed all around me just in case I stepped on something or walked into something. It got really hot yesterday about 110 - 115 degrees for a guess. I ended up making my way out of the centre as it was just too hot to walk around. I have managed to get some good photos though. Today I'm leaving Borneo and about to connect to Bali via Kuala Lumpur. I'm pretty much flying or in airports all day. This is the final leg of my trip and I hope it's as satisfying as the first part.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0599s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb