Kuta, Bintang and Surfing...


Advertisement
Asia
April 28th 2006
Published: May 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Kuta Beach


Surfing in KutaSurfing in KutaSurfing in Kuta

No, not me. I wish I could do that!
So, Kuta is the main "night life" area, and the primary surfing beach (not speaking about quality here, just about where people seem to start).

The main beach is VERY long... ran all the way from Hard Rock to Double Six (very cool nightclub) one day, about 30 minutes one way, and not even a third of the way down the beach.

Sadly, there is also a McDonalds.

I met Augusto, a local guy, who took me on a tour of Bali island, it was very interesting. Saw some rice fields, temples, forests (with monkeys that swim!!) and generally saw the island. Ended the night with the most amazing sea-food dinner on the beach...

The surfing at Kuta is good, nice waves, beach break, but a bit crowded. There are countless locals on the beach that will offer you lessons (and massage, and pineapples, and Bintang, and ecstasy)...

I tried surfing for the first time -- they told me 3 - 4 days before I would be able to stand up and ride the board... so I headed out and did it on my first try! It was so much fun!

Anyway, I then bumped
Sally Body-boarding!Sally Body-boarding!Sally Body-boarding!

Sally! Open your F-ing eyes!
into Steph and Sally (hi you two! Miss you already!) and they changed the course of my trip. How you ask? By shaming me about staying in a 5-star resort and getting my to try "roughing it" backpacker style! I told them that I was going to the Gili Islands (thanks Mark, for the suggestions) they said they were going to and that I had to go backpacker style with them! So, on to Gili we went.....









Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Steph Surfergirl Postcard!Steph Surfergirl Postcard!
Steph Surfergirl Postcard!

Now if ever there was a reason to go to Kuta!
Football - Can't get away from it!Football - Can't get away from it!
Football - Can't get away from it!

These guys played football all day long... and they were good!
Swimming Monkeys!Swimming Monkeys!
Swimming Monkeys!

These monkeys were amazing! They were jumping from the tree into the water! Splash! And then swimming around, sometimes completely submerged!
Monkeys get close!Monkeys get close!
Monkeys get close!

Actually, one even jumped on my back!
Manicure?Manicure?
Manicure?

I think he just had one...
Baby Monkey!Baby Monkey!
Baby Monkey!

Vidal Sasson took one look at this monkey and said, "We have invented nothing."


Tot: 0.159s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 19; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0743s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb