#1--The Purpose of This Trip


Advertisement
Asia
July 22nd 2010
Published: July 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

I remember a few years back when I would turn on the news and listen to reports from Iraq and Afghanistan. "Four soldiers killed in a roadside bombing, bringing the total number of U.S. casualties to 2,300." My mind would wander to the casualty rates of other wars in our history and I would think to myself, "Twenty-three hundred... that's not so bad."

I was unaware of my own densensitization.

And then my mom died. I learned how one lost life can have a greater impact than I ever realized. Those four soldiers had four families--four set of parents--four lovers--four futures...

I had had many students, recruited from their high school economics class, sign their life away to fight in the Middle East. I have seen these same students return confused, changed, broken, or most recently, cold and dead.

I can not stand idly by anymore.

I wrote and received a grant through Fund for Teachers to explore war in Asia--especially war involving America. My goal is to show the reality of war by going to places where war happened with veterans and civilians who experienced it--To tell their stories.

I don't want to tell students what to do with their futures, but I do want to provide them with the knowledge to make a more informed choice, before coming home damaged, broken or in a body bag.




Advertisement



22nd July 2010

Those are very powerful experiences you are sharing. Can't wait to learn more how your travels impact your distinctions & insights. Be safe & have fun! Lot's of love, Tom~
31st July 2010

My peaceful warrior
Couldn't get into these to comment before but its working now that I went backwards. Ill tell you when we talk on the phone. My prayers and my love are with you everyday. Paul

Tot: 0.309s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 10; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0708s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb