Lobster anyone?


Advertisement
Asia
November 11th 2009
Published: November 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
calling all electricians.....calling all electricians.....calling all electricians.....

check out the overhead wires.....
Actually I'm possibly more of a salmon colour now rather than lobster, no sign of blisters just yet, but there's still time.
Well, my plan for this blog was to have a whole heap of interesting pics from our Mekong Delta river tour, aswell as pics from whatever tour we ended up doing on Monday…. Slight change of plans…
So, we got sunburnt… I had to take it that one step further and go and get sunstroke, wasn’t happy with just looking like a lobster, decided I also had to act strangely and pass out in a restaurant before I was really satisfied. Apparently severe sunburn and dehydration can make you do embarrassing things. Mick took the opportunity during my split second of unconsciousness to steal my icecream, in amongst showing his concern of course. Although, he’s seen it all before after I passed out in Malaysia that time, what is it with me and Asian countries?? He did however find it rather odd that for a good hour or so while I wasn’t feeling great, my sunburn had completely disappeared, only to return with a vengeance once I was feeling okay again. Strange.
So anyway, we decided to take it
mui nemui nemui ne

the beach, famous for kite surfers apparently
easy the next day, I wasn’t overly keen on getting on the back of a moped again and burning my burns, that’d be nasty, so we basically just lazed around the resort like beached whales. Monday consisted of much the same thing, and Tuesday we boarded our favourite mode of transport, the sleeper bus for our return trip to hcmc.
We had grand plans of then joining our all day river tour today but I managed to wake with what resembles swine flu. Okay, so its probably just the boring old common cold, I’ll let you know if I’m released from the ‘contaminated tourist’ room at the airport tomorrow.
This meant that I couldn’t drag myself out of bed til mid arvo, (which would have made us about hours late for our tour) so we instead went and watched the Michael Jackson ‘this is it’ movie today at the local cinema. (yes Sarah, they do have cinemas over here) that was good and filled in another lazy day. Such a shame to come all this way and do nothing, so coulda done that at home, but its still good. We were eating out last night and the streets were so
lunch?lunch?lunch?

one of the many beachside restaurants in mui ne.... we had 2 chicken dishes, a garlic bread, 2 cans of coke, a beer and a whisky for $7.50.....bargain!!
alive, I tell ya, hcmc grows on you, its so crazy, but stay here long enough and it becomes the norm. Its like, all of a sudden 2 million bikes coming at you on the pedestrian crossing is nothing, you want more, bring on 3 million, we can take it!!!! Did some serious shopping last night too, got some bargains and getting way better at bartering too, the trick is to walk off, they’ll soon follow you with the price that you want. The food is pretty good here too, the 500 page menu’s make the decision making process a little lengthy. I decided to try the Vietnamese whisky last night (after my new found liking of thai whisky) it was pretty good, reckon if I had have had a few more I would have given my cold a run for its money and probably burnt it out of my system. Man that stuff is potent, and they give you a triple shot with the tiniest drip of coke, not bad for $2.20 hey!!
Well that’s about all I’ve got, apologies for it not being interesting. I’ll put some pics of both the beach and city on for those of
the beach againthe beach againthe beach again

this time on sunset, aint it pretty
you that don’t like to (or cant) read :-)
Nice chattin, thanks for reading. We will be joining you in the Benders heat wave soon xx

ps. I've uploaded a video this time too (incase u didnt notice) the wonders of technology hey!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

sunny beach resortsunny beach resort
sunny beach resort

one of the pools at the resort, and we always had it to ourselves, how good is that!


11th November 2009

Happy Homecoming
Hi Guys I am relieved you are coming home, have missed you. Safe travel and Tan keep your fluids up (I mean water babe). You should never fly dehydrated. Sending lots of Love your way today. HOO ROO see ya soon

Tot: 0.35s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0704s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb