Paid to be Different


Advertisement
Asia
November 3rd 2009
Published: November 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Coke CanCoke CanCoke Can

The pictures only get more boring from here
Pri-VET English world,

Guangdong is suddenly very cold. I went outside today and immediately ran back up to my apartment to grab my big Wisconsin hoody. I thought it certainly must have reached a historic low... I just checked and its 67 degrees outside... What's happening to me? I should be embarrassed. My friends in Wisconsin would laugh at me. People are wearing jackets, jeans, and scarves outside. You would think it's about to snow. I mean it IS kind of windy, that doesn’t help right? Weatherman says we should be leaving this ice age by the end of the week and returning safely back to 80 degree weather. Thank God.

Aside from miserable weather life has been really fantastic. I have been reaping the benefits of being the sole western representative in a city of 2 million people. Within the last two weeks I have starred in a video and photo shoot, given autographs, written 2 articles for 2 different international magazines, and been the guest of honor at elaborate dinner function. I will get this treatment when I return to the states. Right?

A week ago my friend called me saying they wanted a westerner to
MapsMapsMaps

Part of a growing collection of maps
be in promotional material for his friends company. I didn't care what they were selling I was in. Obviously selected for my accomplished acting resume I was going to be the star in the company's new advertisement. I honestly didn't know what to expect. My friend picked me up in the morning and we drove to a massive 5 story factory in the suburbs. When we got there the camera crew was already in place. When I realized what I got myself into my delight turned into a stomach of butterflies and outright fear.

This huge company was relying on me to act in their video. I had to be the face for the company. The company isn't some mom and pop grocery, it's an international company selling amusement park rides and games to customers around the globe. Cameras were swinging around in the sky and rolling around on rails with bright lighting beaming into the set. There were dozens of people walking around setting up the shots, people handing me water, and others snapping my picture as I idly starred slack jawed at the first set. Act... I'm not an actor, I'm barely an English teacher, who am
McdonaldsMcdonaldsMcdonalds

this was in my trash
I to represent anything. But there I was taking instructions in Cantonese about what they wanted me to do.

I was acting as the "customer" in the video. I was the guy being shown around the entire factory looking to buy all of their products. Two things proved crucial in my inevitable success. One. My female "co-star" was drop dead gorgeous. She played the company representative leading me around the company showing me all games. Flirting with her came naturally and it totally helped me relax when filming. Two. My acting was essentially playing with a lot of arcade games pretending to love every minute. After the first couple of shots I was hitting my stride. All I did was smile at the pretty girl and play video games. Can you believe they paid me for this? I wasn't acting, I was just being me, and the games were really fun.

I feel like I should get my name up in IMDB. This is the beginning of something magical. Next stop Hollywood. I was told that is a normal career progression.

On another front, my literary stock is rising as well. I was
My "bible"My "bible"My "bible"

this is how I learn chinese. I remember thinking I wouldnt really use it, wrong. Once you learn the pinyin system its SUPER useful.
contacted by ink publishing to write a bit of "insider information" for Fam Thai the in-flight magazine for Bangkok Airways. How they found me I have no idea, but one doesn't ask questions about such things. I simply obliged and wrote the first article and to my surprise they wanted another. This time I wrote for Smile magazine of Cebu Pacific Airways out of the Philippines. The write up isn't really anything big. I just wrote some travel tips and things to do for Macau and Guangzhou. Although my picture will be inside the both magazines! I wrote about Macau for Bangkok Airways and Guangzhou for Cebu Pacific. You can pick up copies at your local Asian bookstore. Ha, I still don't have my face on a billboard, but I still have 8 months left. By then I should being wrapping up my latest book tour and movie release.

I will make sure to get copies of my 5 minutes of Asian fame so everyone can put up posters in their bedroom. Life outside Chinawood remains normal. Still teaching up a storm and eating insects in the street.

I need to make a second push at learning more
Cat SticksCat SticksCat Sticks

snack I eat everyday. Pretty sure its made for people..
Chinese. I have become comfortably dangerous with my level of Putonghua (Mandarin). I can say just enough to get myself into trouble but not enough to get out. Everything I need to do on a daily basis is easy, but a deep conversation is still out of reach. I want to study hard before I head out on another trip I am planning.

First I am going to see the Macau Grand Prix in a couple weeks followed by a trip to Taipei Taiwan. Aunt Ann, I MUST find that restaurant. The pictures this week are just an odd collection of life up close. I've ran out of ideas, what do you want to see? Thanks for tuning in, have a great week, Zai Jian.



Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

ZipLock MeatZipLock Meat
ZipLock Meat

Very popular in China. Very popular in my snack drawer.
GatoradeGatorade
Gatorade

is it in you? don't know the chinese slogan.
Hot PeppersHot Peppers
Hot Peppers

I eat this junk everyday. Food without a little sizzle ain't worth it.
Mystery MeatMystery Meat
Mystery Meat

please get in my belly strangly appealing meat product
coin collectioncoin collection
coin collection

part of my growing coin collection. from left to right.. Hong Kong, Macau, USA, China, Japan.
InternetInternet
Internet

Internet is magically beamed through the sky and into this little thing letting me talk to you on the other side of the planet. crazy.
Business CardsBusiness Cards
Business Cards

Part of another growing collection of important things
PassportPassport
Passport

My passport is getting busy. I'm doing my best to fill it up.
ZhongshanZhongshan
Zhongshan

bonus picture I found mixed in with the rest. Shot from the top my apartment building.


3rd November 2009

Ha!
"But there I was taking instructions in Cantonese about what they wanted me to do." I laughed out loud for thirty seconds when I read that. It scared the cat. Love you buddy, Ross
3rd November 2009

sounds like you're the David Hasselhoff of china!!! you have got to post that video! its about 40 degrees here, and im wearing flip flops....chinas really softened you ha ha stay warm!!
3rd November 2009

Loved your latest blog!
Hi Nate, This is great stuff! Finally a non-ugly American is getting prominent display in the countries of the Far East. I can't wait to read your travel tips, which I'm sure will work just as well in Chicago and Iowa City (which is where Dorothy and I will be travelling this week to see Rita and Jimmy and then our new granddaughter, Eleanor). When you get back you'll have to have a big party where we can all hear about your travels in person. We'll surely come. Stay safe. Bill (your Dad's brother).
3rd November 2009

Nate
I've said it before I'll say it again. You put the cool in Koffel. Just don't forget us when you are famous. Love you Natie.
4th November 2009

ha I just need to grow some chest hair and Ill be in business!
4th November 2009

unbelievable
quite the life of stardom you are leading! very cool....try to remember us little people on your rise to international fame and fortune! Your dad came down to visit me and go to the Bengals - Bears game with Jimmy K.....quite a game - the Bengals steamrolled over the Bears for a 45-10. Now Drew and the kids and I are getting geared up for college basketball - I think your team UD is supposed to be pretty good this year................ Be safe and have fun. Love, Lyn
4th November 2009

Nate!
Nate! I stumbled upon your blog! Wow. I actually just spent the last couple hours reading them all. Impressive sir. I'm jealous. It sounds like you're making the most out of this thing. I knew you'd be the perfect person for this type of adventure. Whats it like to be rock star? Also, you're a really solid writer. I laughed to myself numerous times during the course of my reading (dig the reference to friend who sparked the interest). Anyway, I hope everything stays as amazing as it has been. Ill make sure to stay up on the escapade and write you. Keep it real. Jon
5th November 2009

ha yeah Jon, I have you to blame for starting me down this wretched path!
7th November 2009

ha. ha. ha!
koff, this is bloody hilarity. "please get in my belly, strangely appealing meat product" ?!?!?! i am sitting here on saturday morning, 8:30am, in my house, alone, laughing hysterically! it honestly sounds like you have more 'experiences' there in a week than i have had in my entire life. then again, this IS coming from your friend who still fondly remembers air potato guns and snowmen as unforgettable 'experiences'...
7th November 2009

haha well potato guns and snowmen ARE unforgettable experiences!

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0286s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb