Final Thoughts


Advertisement
Asia
January 4th 2009
Published: January 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Our long journey back to the US starts tonight! We are spending the last few hours in Delhi. Steph found out that one of the best Italian restaurants is at the Hyatt. We went straight to the hotel as soon as we landed from our Varanasi-Delhi flight with about 5 hours to spare.

Last night, we met the astrologer who looked like an Indian version of the French actor, Gerard Depardieu. I was informed not to wear red and black together on the weekends. My mom was told to avoid yellow and green together during the week. Steph's lucky number is 5...coincidentally that is the number she programmed in earlier in the trip for the password to our hotel safe.


Here are our final thoughts on the trip:

Steph - I'm impressed with how gracious and hospitable the people are and their ability to focus on the present moment. I hope that I have learned a little more about how to do that. I'm looking forward to eating fruits and raw vegetables, brushing my teeth with tap water and soy lattes!

Mom - I'm excited to see all the photos and reminisce about the entire trip. I'll remember all the laughter and enjoyment I had traveling with my daughters and seeing this amazing country through their eyes. I think the quote by Melodie Beattie says it best when I think of the Indian people..."Gratitude unlocks the fullness of life. It turns denial into acceptance, chaos to order, confusion to clarity. It can turn a meal into a feast, a stranger into a friend. Gratitude makes sense of our past, brings peace for today, and creates a vision for tomorrow."

Liz - India is a magical place for me. The beauty lies in the people of all religions and backgrounds who are united by their diversity. I will always remember meeting the most friendly, enterprising, easygoing and optimistic people. I hope to carry their spirit with me in my life. I'm looking forward to eating bland American food after 2 weeks of non-stop curry. Special thanks to Francie and David for sharing their own India blog with me and giving us the idea to create one. We have enjoyed sharing our travels with all of you!

Advertisement



Tot: 6.604s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0498s; 3; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb