Nice to meet you !


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
July 25th 2014
Published: July 25th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Because that’s one of the reason why I fell in love with Saigon, I think it’s important to me to talk about my meetings in Vietnam, in order to be better understood.


First, let me introduce you Ho Chi Minh city, also called Saigon, “the small Paris”. It’s the economical capital, the biggest and most vibrant city in Vietnam, which moves all the time. 70%!o(MISSING)f the population is under 35 years old. The younger generation understands that if it wants to succeed, it needs to know one thing: speaking english. Because this language is the first used in the world. It will allow them to apply for large international companies that are developing in this city, and to have a high salary, of course. And they found one mean to succeed: TALKING AND SHARING WITH THE TOURIST.

Ben Thanh’s park, the place where everything has started…

At the beginning of my stay, I usually went to this park. I found it by chance, as I was walking in the city. In this park, there are lots of groups of students who were talking with foreigners, who played music,… A good atmosphere! Then, one of these came to me. They asked me to share with them, cause they wanted to practice english. Not easy to understand Vietnamese people speaking English. But very fun! There, I met lots of my current vietnamese friends. And they learned me a lot. About history, tourism, famous places, typical meals, and culture (the most interesting! I hope to write an article about this).

“What’s your name?”, “where are you from?”, “what do you do in Saigon?” …

Every Sunday, various meetings… but always the same questions! A good way for me (and for them), to improve my level. American, English, German, Spanish,… this park is a breeding ground for tourists from all around the world. When the vietnamese ask me where I came from, and that I reply "from France", they are very surprised. Thus, I realize that, thanks to them, and to foreigners that I listen to talk, my level has progressed well.

Bui Vien street, the vietnamese “Rue de la soif”…

The place to be to meet foreigners in Saigon: Bars, happy hours, restaurants, massage parlors, hotels,… I knew there some of my traveling friends, with who I passed good evenings. I keep the details! And one advice: don't stroll alone too late in this street! Unless if you want to cross some girls or "lady boys" whom propose you night services...



Thanks for reading!

Mr Flo - My Trip in Vietnam -


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



26th July 2014

A very warm welcome to you from Luxembourg !
Enjoy your travels ! Karim

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0446s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb