My sister's wedding in Sài Gòn


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
May 19th 2011
Published: May 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

It has been 3 months since my last entry. I hope you get used to the new version of Travel Blog (version 3). I am just back home from a trip to Sài Gòn for attending my sister's wedding. She decided to make only one party in Sài Gòn where she has lived for the last 12 years. There was neither engagement ceremony nor party in Hanoi, so myself, parents and another sister with her family flew to Sài Gòn a few days before the important event.

The wedding party was held on Sunday 15 May at 5-star New World Hotel in Sài Gòn. There were 170 guests, of which 100 people are my sister's colleagues. She is the most successful person in my family. 12 years ago, when she decided to move to live in Sài Gòn, my parents gave her US$100. During the first few years, she faced with many difficulties when living with relatives and changing jobs. Now she is Human Resources Manager of a famous European company. She travels around the world for business and for fun. She also owns a car and an apartment in District 2. We are so happy for her, as she decided to marry a good man.

I've never been to a wedding party in Sài Gòn, so I was curious how it would be like. In Hanoi, all the food are put onto a table to serve for 6 guests. In Sài Gòn, it's different as the food are served one by one and there are 10 guests sharing a table. At my sister's wedding party, each portion costs US$50 (VND 1 million) and there are 9 dishes including fruits. This is the price at a 5-star hotel. It would be less expensive if the party is held at a normal restaurant.

Another difference is the party in Hanoi often lasts two hours, while the party in Sài Gòn takes longer time (3 and a half hours in case of my sister). The guests came into the hall at 6pm, the ceremony started at 7pm, and dancing in the end. After the MC announced, there was slide show on screens, then a couple of ballet dancers performed. When bride and groom entered the hall, four boys standing at the door broke the balloons and it made sound like firecrackers. After that representatives of the two families joined them on the stage. My dad also made a speech and he nearly cried. Other than live music and singers, some colleagues of my sister also sang songs and we were amazed at their talents. There was a lot of fun and everyone was so happy.

The newly wed couple enjoyed a free night at the hotel. My parents and another sister stayed in Sài Gòn for a few more days, while I flew to Côn Đảo island. I'll write more about this place in my next blog.

Another blog about Vietnamese wedding: A wedding party in Hanoi


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

My sister and our 5-year-old nephewMy sister and our 5-year-old nephew
My sister and our 5-year-old nephew

He is shy when my sister asks him to give her a kiss.
My dad and sisterMy dad and sister
My dad and sister

He is so happy with a big smile on the daughter's wedding day.
My dad and another sisterMy dad and another sister
My dad and another sister

My nephew embraces his mum while she is dancing with dad.
Another sister of mineAnother sister of mine
Another sister of mine

I have two sisters. This girl is married and has two children (5-year-old son and 1-year-old daughter). She is now working at a Vietnamese bank.
Spinach soup with seafood and conpoySpinach soup with seafood and conpoy
Spinach soup with seafood and conpoy

One of the nine dishes served at the party (Súp hải sản với bó xôi and sò điệp khô).
Pan-fried beef fillet with garlic and shallotsPan-fried beef fillet with garlic and shallots
Pan-fried beef fillet with garlic and shallots

One of the nine dishes served at the party (Thịt bò phi lê áp chảo với tỏi và hành tím)
Braised chicken with pak choy and Chinese wine sauceBraised chicken with pak choy and Chinese wine sauce
Braised chicken with pak choy and Chinese wine sauce

One of the nine dishes served at the party (Gà hầm cải thìa và rượu Trung Hoa)
Fish is shared to 10 plates for guestsFish is shared to 10 plates for guests
Fish is shared to 10 plates for guests

Steamed sea garoupa with superior soya sauce (Cá bống mú hấp với nước tương thượng hạng)
Sauteed broccoli with crab meatSauteed broccoli with crab meat
Sauteed broccoli with crab meat

One of the nine dishes served at the party (Bông cải xanh xào với thịt cua)
Fried rice with seafood with "Sichuan style"Fried rice with seafood with "Sichuan style"
Fried rice with seafood with "Sichuan style"

One of the nine dishes served at the party (Cơm chiên hải sản kiểu Tứ Xuyên)
Sweetened red bean soup with lotus seedSweetened red bean soup with lotus seed
Sweetened red bean soup with lotus seed

One of the nine dishes served at the party (Chè đậu đỏ hạt sen)


19th May 2011

Congratulations
Congratulations to Your Sister and Husband..May they have good Luck and Good Health....Great photo's makes me Hungry...:) :)
19th May 2011

Your sister's wedding
Very interesting to hear about the differences between weddings in Hanoi and Saigon. Lovely pictures.
19th May 2011

So happy to read about you!!!!!
Dear friend: I am so happy to see that you are writting again.And I am happy for your sister new life. Love from Argentina. Now I am in Morocco!!!!!
20th May 2011

Thank you
I feel like I attended the same wedding. Of course, I have not been to one Vietnamese wedding. Thank you. You have a lovely family!
21st May 2011

Nice!
Once again a very interesting story. Keep up the good work my friend. Kisses from Manila.
21st May 2011

Congratulations to all of you & family on this great occasion. I'm glad you're writing again after awhile and I thought you no longer interested in TR :) :) Anyway welcome back and looking forward for your next post......

Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 14; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0972s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb