Good Morning Vietnam


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City » District 1
August 3rd 2012
Published: August 3rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Well breakfast in Cambodia lunch in Vietnam. Up not so early this morning which has been a real treat as our flight is not until 14.15 today. Down to breakfast and I know I did the cooking course but how come everytime I put toast in the toaster when the toast popped up someone knicked it and I had to start again. After the 3rd time of this decided that I would guard the toaster like a hawk and I was not going to be done again. Ordered my egg and guess what again someone else takes it - even the lady cooking the eggs looked at me and giggled as she saw the toast episode.

We are panicking a bit as I mentioned before during on-line check-in our names are not quite right on the check-in details - wait till we get to the airport to try to sort out. I think Mike is worrying about this little bit of controversy more than me. Anyway decided that the best thing is to act dumb when we check-in. As I can do this a lot better than Mike - that was our tactic I would check us in at the check in desk. Acting dumb is the best thing as she checked us in with no issues and even our boarding passes had the wrong names on. We just kept dumb but clever clogs here needed some mascara so decided to get it at duty free. Normally at duty free they only ask for your boarding pass - Phnom Penn they also ask for your passport - this is when I think hey ho we have been rumbled but as normal just looked away and acted dumb and mascara now in bag.

The flight was great and we had a real nice lady sat next to us who was studying in Japan she was off to a German/Vietnamese wedding - seems a good mix not sure how this will go.

We have now booked into our guest house which is home for the next 3 weeks - at least it has a fan.

Off for a walk and to find an ATM to get some Vietnamese Dong - what happens Mike the Ex Risk Director forgets to hide the pin number to which Paula the street wise kid goes ballastic.

Found a great place to eat. It was like running the gauntlet to get to the place with all the bikes. I just said to Mike keep walking do not run and do not stop what ever you do.

We have a introduction tomorrow at 9.30am which is a bit about the country etc and what we are going to do for the next 3 weeks. Previously when I have done volunteering they also take you around some sights so lets see.

Want to get on with some stability for a while so I do not have to think and plan ahead.

Cannot wait to wake up in the morning and shout GOOD MORNING VIETNAM - this is one of the things on my bucket list.

Hope everyone is ok.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0227s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb