Mike finally gets a 2nd blog posted


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City » District 1
September 4th 2011
Published: September 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Mike is making like a blogging sloth and distinctly not blogging, so I thought that I'd start him off for today.

We got up rather later than usual today, at about 9am. By the time we had breakfast and left the hotel it was 10:30am, but that didn't matter because Ho Chi Minh City is not the crazy whirlwind rush of sightseeing that Phnom Penh became.

Our first stop was the Ho Chi Minh City Museum. It took us AGES to find the entrance, and when we did, we couldn't get into the museum because of all the wedding photos happening on the steps leading to the main doors. When we finally got inside, our progress around the museum was also impeded by even more wedding portraits. The museum itself was totally RUBBISH. The displays were distinctly unengaging (I don't even care that this isn't a word because it totally describes them) and the English translations were nonsensical, but not even in a funny way. They just didn't make sense. It was quite infuriating really, because I was trying to come to grips with all of modern Vietnamese history, and the museum itself just wasn't helping at all. Eventually I got the low-down from Mike, with a bit of help from the guidebook. I'll let him explain it/actually do his blog now...

A post-script: Mike didn't actually use my fabulous introduction for his blog post! Can you believe it? I can't. But I'm publishing it anyway, because I bothered to write it, so all you folks at home can bother to read it. Yes.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0537s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb