Day 6 - Danang to Hoi An


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Quảng Nam » Hoi An
June 21st 2012
Published: June 21st 2012
Edit Blog Post

I woke early at 6:00am as there was a lot of noise going on in the hallway then realised it was because there was a stop coming up. I didn't get the best night sleep anyway as I more just dozed in and out of sleep. I nodded back off for a bit til just before 8:00am when I got up and made my Pho24 noodles for breakfast. They were tasty. Also had a honey nut cookie from Carly and my little strawberry cream filled panda biscuits. Healthy. <br style="line-height: 19px; padding: 0px; margin: 0px;" />We weren't arriving in Danang until about midday so we had some time to fill in on the train. We worked out how to spend the rest of our day today when we get there and also our day tomorrow.

We finally arrived at Danang 50minutes late, jumped in a mini bus and drove the 45mins to Hoi An as the train doesn't directly go there. We arrived at our hotel and it's really nice, quite grand. There is a massive Buddah in the entrance and the furniture and everything is made of a really dark wood.

We made our way to our room on level 4, it even has a balcony and is quite a big room with a double bes and one single, I was happy to take the single.

We quickly changed and Jess, Carly and myself made our way to Yaly Couture Tailors. They are probably the more top of the market here but we went into a few others and they didn't have the selection of fabric so we went there.

I had printed out dresses that I wanted made and they were very accomodating. Though they didn't have the material the same as the pictures I think I ended up with what will hopefully be better when I return tomorrow for my fitting. Fingers crossed. They took my measurements, I picked the fabric and we were on our way.

We met up with Bruce our tour manager and everyone else had bailed on the walking tour so he took just the three of us around the town.

We first visited the Museum of Hoi An History and Culture. It was small, set in an old pagoda and it was interesting as Bruce did a brief rundown of things for us. Then we headed to Phuc Kien Assembly Hall which was Chinese themed. Then to the Japanese Covered Bridge, got a quick photo there then to The Old house of Tan Ky which was interesting because they showed us marks on the walls where it had been flooded several times over previous years over the wet season. Some of them were up to 2mtrs in 2009/2010.

After this Bruce left us and we walked around for a bit, bought some cute summer dresses and made our way back in the blistering heat to sit by the pool for a bit before we showered and headed off to dinner.

We met by the pool at 7:15pm and made our way to a little restaurant called Mermaid. It's considered pretty expensive for here but my main was like $2.50!! And it was so delicious. I had Bún bò xào which is rice noodles and stir fried beef with peanuts and a sweet and sour sauce. I also got a pina colada and I had banana fritters for dessert. After dinner and a good chat we headed of just to look at some little stalls but most of them had started closing by this point so we just headed back to the hotel for a sort of early night as we have to be ready at 4:45am tomorrow for our sunrise photo tour.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0493s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb