Tailored Suits and Culinary Roots


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Quảng Nam » Hoi An
June 25th 2006
Published: June 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Arriving in Hoi An I found it to be charming and relaxing in spite of the very touristy gearing the whole place has. I had already decided to get a suit (or several made!) so the first thing I did was set out to find a tailor. The first few I looked at had dire fabrics, and prices so cheap as to raise suspicion. I eventually found one with a fabric I liked, and with sample goods that looked up to the mark. I orded one suit in some English Cashmere, got measured up, and left to contemplate how dangerous this town is when you have a credit card.

Local Specialties
Hoi An has many culinary specialties, and unlike other towns they really do shout about it! I bought a set lunch which introduced me the the main ones:

The Lonely liar claimed that Cao Lau can only be made in Hoi An as it uses water from the Be Le Well in the village, but my waitress actually confirmed that this is true.

In the afternoon I was hassled, albeit in a nice way, into a tailors shop (the power that pretty girls have...). I ended up buying another suit, a lot cheaper than the first. Partly I was curious to see the difference, but also I found a second fabric which I liked. Only time will tell tho...


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.051s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb