Work Day via Chile


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Quảng Nam » Hoi An
January 3rd 2011
Published: January 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

shoesshoesshoes

one of the custom leather sandals I ordered
Today we had to wake up around 10 so Ronald could be connected to the people in Chile for the application process that ties down all the websites in Chile this time o' year. So we went to our trusted restaurant that we've been to every day and got a table. Ronald started working and I went off to shop! (Never thought I'd say that...) Leather shoes are very common around here, so I went off to see what damage I could do to my wallet. I ended up ordering two pairs, one for 160,000 and one for 130,000 which were ready around 17:00 tonight...pretty nice turnaround rate if you ask me.

We decided to leave tomorrow because there's really not much else for us to do here, so our next stop is Nha Trang, another popular tourist destination. We thought about the island just outside of here, but it didn't work out. So we'll be taking the sleeper bus tomorrow at 18:30. I'm not sure what time it leaves, but that's when they'll pick us up at our hotel. We should be in Nha Trang at 10 am on Wednesday.

Our Impossible Mission: Find a place with WiFi
nice!nice!nice!

pork wontons
that is closed to the outside street noise.

We did not complete our mission. We found the Laugh Cafe and went upstairs and shut the doors so Ronald could talk on the phone with the people in Chile during these hectic hours. Pretty cute place.

We had a beer in a traditional Vietnamese house that people still live in but have converted to a cafe upstairs. Most of the shops here are really their houses, just in case I've forgotten to mention that. Anyways, we went to my dress fitting and I have to come back tomorrow with Ronald who caved and decided to get linen pants. I'm jealous, but really I don't need more clothes.

But I got two more dresses. Hey, at least it was from a different shop, right? ...right?!

Now we are at the Laugh Cafe again...they have wifi and they're really nice and they have GREAT food. They do cooking classes too, but we won't experience that. We were going to try White Rose, a traditional dish, but it has shrimp in it. Unfortunate.

Technical Details
* cao lao is great street food -- pork, herbs, noodles
* nice to carry around just in case: "ca" = fish, "heo" = pork, "sup" = soup, "ga" = chicken, "bo" = beef, "murc" = squid, "tom" = shrimp, "cua" = crab, "ram cuon" = spring rolls, "com chien" = fried rice, "com trang" = steamed rice (keep in mind I've left out the accent marks for simplicity...)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0678s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb