Hitting Hai Phong


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Red River Delta » Hai Phong
September 4th 2012
Published: September 14th 2012
Edit Blog Post

The city.



A two hour bus ride is all it takes to get from the city of Hanoi to Hai Phong.

Streets are still filled with street traders - food being cooked on the pavement, shacks at the side of the road selling things and canopies set up for streetwalk bars.

As you walk down the street and look into the different buildings they are filled with everything, anything and nothing at the same time. We have no idea how people know where to buy certain things because it partially resembles a car boot sale in so many shops. We think that we will be sticking mainly to the shopping centre and the BigC.

We spent quite a bit of time walking around the food section. At first glance it was a very "what the hell is this" kind of nightmare, but gradually we found what we were looking for (noodles, rice, veg and snacks). We haven't been brave enough to buy the meat yet, as it all sits out in the open, so we occassional treat ourselves in the restaurants, making sure we get well cooked beef etc.

The price difference of some things are amazing:

1.5ltr of 7up - 14,000 dong - 50p

Bag of popcorn - 1000dong - 6p

2 large meals (beef noodles veg), 2 portions of chips, 2 cans of coke, 2 beers - 280,000dong - £9


Accommodation - Peter




At the moment, I am living with the Nang family. They are very nice and welcoming, eager to include me in their meals and to ask me about my day. The house is gorgeous and my bedroom is large with an ensuite. No aircon at the moment means that I spend every second in the room with my fan on, and the bathroom is like a sauna - no sooner have you had a shower and dried yourself, that you are already wet with the humidity of the place.




My landlady is a teacher, she often has lessons to teach in the house in the CLASSROOM built upstairs. There are constant pupils running up and down the stairs, and due to the (i shit you not) SEE THROUGH glass door to my bedroom, they all have a peek in to my room to look at the funny white man.




My

accommodation is great apart from the lack of privacy, but after showing for 2 weeks that I have made an effort to live with the family, I still feel that I need my own place. So the email is ready to send asking for the company to find an apartment for Nadine and I (and Fergal when he arrives in 2 weeks). Fingers crossed (even though this is insulting in Vietnam) they can find us somewhere soon.


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Fancy apartmentsFancy apartments
Fancy apartments

we want to live here!!!
WTFWTF
WTF

we don't know what this is - a type of fruit or weapon?
Spot the VampireSpot the Vampire
Spot the Vampire

This is the amount of garlic cloves we found in two portions of beef noodles
Hai Phong trafficHai Phong traffic
Hai Phong traffic

LIGHT traffic


14th September 2012

living in HP!
Hey! So i was also living in Hai Phong.. working as a teacher. It is an interesting place to start out your vietnamese experience!! love the city and the relaxing feel. love the culture and the experience, but the company wasnt so good so i moved to Hanoi about a month ago. I couldnt imagine doing a house stay!! your own apt is a must.. Hope you enjoy the town. what are you guys doing there?? If you ever come to Hanoi, hit me up =]
15th September 2012

Hai Phong
Hey, thanks for your comment. We are working in Hai Phong as teachers for a company called Sunrise. They seem really nice and help us as much as they can. I am teaching elementary school and my friend Nadine is working in a high school. So far the place is ok, I understand what you mean about the lack of company, which is why I am so glad that there are two of us here, and a third arriving at the end of the month. What do you recommend doing in our spare time in Hai Phong? Any bars you thought were good etc?
15th September 2012

Nice pictures
I enjoy to see picture about my hometown that I drove my motorbike everyday! Thanks
16th September 2012

Hmmm there's not a whole lot to do... The main (well and only) expat bar is Julies and if you go to Julies ask where duck noodle is! very close and the best late night meal very close to Julies. Besides that we would go to this place where they just put carpet out on the sidewalks and that's where you sit and order beers and vodka, on Lach Tray... its by a war monument. Or we would go to the Bia Hoi factory.. or really any bia hoi on the street and have some beers. There's lots of great food, bun cha and paris bread kebobs (on Lach Tray as well), banh cuon.. the list goes on. Besides that I watched a lot of movies on line and took naps. Haha a very relaxing life style. I also learned how to drive a motorcycle =]
16th September 2012
Peter's kitchen

Love the decorative inlay of the table and chairs , the sunset photo is lovely.
16th September 2012
Street view

Now I understand the bike culture!!!
16th September 2012
Spot the Vampire

Good heavens!
20th September 2012

Hai Phong Lifestyle
Hey Guys, My name is Ronan from Meath. I'll actually be arriving in Hai Phong on October 3rd, I'm really happy to have found your blog after scouring the net for info about Hai Phong for a couple of hours now. I'm an English teacher too, I've been living in Barcelona for the past two years and wanted a change. How is the market in Hai Phong for English teachers? I've heard conflicting things, most people reckon Ha Noi is the place to be, but I don't fancy the big city to be honest. It would be nice to meet up for an auld "Bia Hoi", Hai Phong style!!! Good luck, Ronan.
20th September 2012

Welcome
hey, Hai Phong gets a lot of bad press from people it seems but so far i like it. Iv been here 3 weeks now and have started teaching - no matter what the children will adore u and their faces light up any time u enter the room, its quite cute. There arn't many english speakers here but my friend nadine is here with me, and my boyfriend from home is moving here to join us in 2 weeks. So at least there will be a few of us to make the most of our time here. There isnt much to do, but during the wk u will probably be busy, and there is a bowling alley, cinema, and a local pub to enjoy. You got any questions? where are you living? what company are you with?
20th September 2012

Hai Phong Lifestyle
Yea, I've heard some mad stories about Hai Phong but I want to experience it for myself. I'm glad to hear you like it. I don't have anything lined up on the job-front, I was told it was best not to decide on anything in Vietnam until I'm there and have seen it. I have an interview with Apollo in Hai Phong, another interview in a place in Thai Binh and a couple of interviews in Ha Noi. Not really sure about accommodation, I'm going with my girlfriend and we're staying in a cheap hotel for the first week, we'll look for a place but it depends on the job. If you hear of any jobs opportunities then I'd really appreciate it, Thanks, Ronan.
22nd September 2012

jobs
my company are looking for more teachers i think, i could send u their contact email address if you want. The really want native english speakers!
23rd September 2012

Jobs
That would be great!! Thanks very much. You can mail me at: ronan728@gmail.com. Cheers, Ronan.
27th September 2012

foreigner in haiphong
Hi Peter and Ronan! I am happy to hearing you will live in my hometown. I have a foreigner friend in haiphong but live alone. We often practice vietnamese/english and talking about haiphong. Haiphong is export city,industry city however not many foreigner can be connect together. So that I hope I and my friend has chance to contact with you as a small group foreigner in haiphong where everybody can share experience,exchange culture, help each other in haiphong. I am willing to help you what I know about haiphongcity through email: uga1881@gmail.com Regards

Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0406s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb