Tranquility and dishonesty around Halong Bay (Cat Ba Island, Vietnam)


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Red River Delta » Hai Phong
November 6th 2008
Published: November 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

(Day 216 on the road)It may sound harsh, but I have come to the conclusion that a lot of Vietnamese people (certainly those in the tourist industry) are not just opportunistic as I had previously thought, but plain dishonest. I have had so many bad experiences in the eleven days I spent on Cat Ba Island and heard of even more from other travellers that it is impossible to enjoy travelling in Vietnam. I have decided that I have had it, and I will leave Vietnam as soon as possible and head over into Laos.

The first four days on the island where very nice however. After crazy Hanoi, Cat Ba, only about four hours away by bus and boat, was a very welcome retreat. I spent these first four days not doing very much at all, and my life resolved around the beach (reading a book I picked up in a second hand bookshop in Hanoi and swimming), the balcony of my waterfront hotel room overlooking the sea, a few seafood restaurants, and my bed. Sounds too good to be true? Well, the only worry I was having at that time was the lack of water pressure from the shower in my room. And I guess if this was my only concern in life right then, I could consider myself a pretty lucky guy. I also quite enjoyed the frequent power outages, as then in the evenings everyone was doing business by candle light. During one spectacular power cut, I was having dinner with a couple I met when the whole town just went pitch black from one second to the next - it was a great sight.

After the first few lazy days, I got out and about more around town and the island, and this is where the bad experiences started. Here is a short list of just the main ones:


• At the market: I buy 1 kg of mangos, and the lady fiddles a bit with the scale before weighing the fruits. I am thinking nothing of it. The amount of mangos however looks a bit strange, and I have a look at the scale when she takes the fruits off. Sure enough, the scale reads 400 g even with nothing on it - the lady had set it to 400 g instead of zero, trying to charge me 1 kg but only giving me 600 g.
• At the market another time: I buy two dragon fruits and the lady picks them for me and puts them into the bag. After I get back to my hotel, I find that both fruits are clearly rotten.
• At my hotel when I check out on the final day: The price we had agreed upon was 4$ per night and 5$ including breakfast. I had breakfast once, but when I give him the 5$ for that day, he somehow forgot about this deal and wants to charge me more. Naturally, I refuse, and he starts pushing me around and tries to hit me. I want to leave and he starts to hold me, telling me I will not leave the island until I pay him. I am furious at this lying bastard, but somehow manage to keep my cool and not get involved in the fight he wants to pick. I walk off and to the bus.
• In the Internet cafe: I walk in and ask how much it is, and am told that the rate per hour is 15.000 dong per hour. When I leave, the same guy knows nothing of this, and says that it is 20.000 dong per hour.
• In a different Internet cafe: Again, the rate is 15.000 dong per hour. I stay for exactly 1 hour and 15 minutes. So the total is 22.500, right? However, as I ask how much it is they guy says 50.000. I say he must be joking, he then says 25.000. I look at his screen where he monitors the PC usage, and sure enough it says 22.500. He agrees reluctantly, I give him 30.000, and he then shortchanges me by 2000 ("Oh sorry sir, my mistake, here is your 2.000").
• At the ice vendor: I ask the woman how much a small cone of ice cream costs (after I observed a local pay 500). She tells me it is 10.000 and refuses to go below 8.000.
• Touring Halong Bay: This was a bit of a all round disaster: We had been promised an English-speaking guide, snorkeling, two caves, and entrance to Monkey Island. None of these was true. No guide at all, no snorkeling equipment on board, just one cave, and off course we had to pay the entrance fee at Monkey Island. On top of that, our inexperienced skipper set the boat aground just two hours after leaving in the morning, and we were completely stuck in the middle of nowhere. We were unable to move the boat and waited for three hours until another tour boat finally came along and took us on board. The group on that boat had booked a kayaking trip, so we had to wait another hour and a half for them to return. So out of a nine hour trip, we spent four and a half hours just sitting on the boat. When we got back to Cat Ba Island and wanted part of our money back for this complete failure to deliver, the guy who sold us the tour used so many lies, got very aggressive and eventually tried to hit a member of our group, Franziska (luckily prevented by her boyfriend, Robert).
• Franziska and Robert at their hotel: also had some bad experience at their hotel: At check in, they had agreed with the hotel owner a price of 5$. At check out, surprise surprise, the woman does not remember that anymore and tries to charge them 6$. As they refuse, the lady behind the counter starts abusing them and shouting at at them, taking off her shoe and wanting to hit Franziska with her flip-flop. They give their the agreed money and the lady rushes to the door of the hotel trying to close them and lock them in.
• Franziska and Robert and their motorbike: They rented a motorbike from their hotel and left it and their helmets for about ten minutes when they went for a swim. Sure enough, one helmet was stolen in that time. Back at the hotel, the lady asks for 10$. They have a look around town and find a new helmet for 5$, which they buy. The lady at the hotel refuses to accept the helmet, shouts at them and eventually starts to physically hit them.
• On my way to the island from the main land: I had asked a local how much the motorbike taxi would be to the jetty and got the price. When I give the money to the taxi-driver he takes my note, rumples it up and throws it to the floor as if I had gravely insulted him.



All coincidences? Just a little unlucky? Maybe. But after seven months of travel in eleven different countries so far (and about 40 more countries on previous trips), nothing like this has ever happened to me anywhere else. I have also talked to quite a few other travellers, and they all have similar stories to tell. I have no idea why the Vietnamese behave like that, not just ripping foreigners off, but being plain dishonest, lying, and not upholding agreements.

In any case, as I have said above, I have had it. I will make another brief stop in Ninh Binh which is famous for its beautiful countryside, and after that I am off to Laos as quickly as possible. I will not spend any more of my money or time in this unpleasant country.

Next stop: Ninh Binh (Vietnam).



To view my photos, have a look at pictures.beiske.com. And to read the full account of my journey, have a look at the complete book about my trip at Amazon (and most other online book shops).




Advertisement



4th May 2009

Vietnamese ARE dishonest people
I have had many similar bad experiences in Vietnam. I'm surprised how tourists keep coming here!
12th July 2009

It's not that bad
LOL Well Ben, I hope you can laugh about your misadventures looking back, but I certainly did. I've been living in Vietnam for four years now, and yes I know every situation you described, many of them happened to me too. But in 4 years I was nowehere ripped of as often as you managed to get in 11 days, so I guess yes, you must have had some bad luck. That said, and this may quite surprise you, I still think 99% of the Vietnamese are -sometimes amazingly- friendly people, but you have to get off the beaten track a little. Around touristic areas, hotels, guesthouses, souvenirshops and other places that draw the foreign masses, there indeed the intentions of many Vietnamese are entirely focused on your money, and the many decent in indecent ways to, um, liberate your from it. To any readers of this topic; always make sure you negociate your transactions thoroughly before you get out your wallet, and it makes sense for example in hotels to write down your agreements and have them signed. If the other party refuses to do so, just leave, there is always another option to go to. Always make very sure what you may expect and what is included in the deal you're about to make. I've never met, or ever heard of Vietnamese that wanted to physically hurt anyone. Never. Always, in any dispute, stay calm and make sure you don't make people "lose face", the worst that can happen to most Asians. If things don't work out, pay whatever you think is right and quitely leave. I read you're quite welltravelled, which surpirses me even more. If it comes to Vietnam, please understand that most of the people you meet make less in a year than that wristwatch you're wearing. You can't really blame them to look at you as a walking pot of gold and they too have a family to feed. And even if you know they're trying to overcharge you (unless it's too much and too evidently) remember that this dollar you're about to get ripped off for buys them dinner for grandma and the kids. Don't misunderstand me, in the tourist areas you will get ripped off, people will lie to you, your helmet may get stolen if you leave it for a fraction of a seond unattended, but, let's say, Amsterdam really isn't much better. I cannot repeat enough for anyone that reads this and plans to go to VN; get off the beaten track, rent a motorbike, ride 2 kilometers in any given direction and you'll meet very different people. Ha Long Bay and Cat Ba, Ha Noi and Tam Coc, amongst many more places, beautiful as they, do have a very bad reputation if it comes to ripping off tourists, that's absolutely true. But with that in mind, and some simple awareness, there is a good chance you may actually love Vietnam. Cherios, Niels.
8th October 2009

hanoi is probably the worst
Hi mate, great blog and really enjoyng reading it!! i was in vietnam a few years ago and never had any troubles until i reached hanoi. I was on the back of a motorbike taxi and as i got off and paid i turned to walk a way and i felt a slash at the back of my pants and i saw the bike speed away they had used a razor to slash at my back pocket to get at my wallet and lucky for me i had good jeans on the wallet was just hanging on!!! lesson learned... never carry your wallet in your back pocket!!! take care and good luck with the rest of the travels!
17th March 2010

LOL
LOL...judging from the beautiful sceneric pictures that you managed to take while in Vietnam, and the $4/$5 dollars per night spent on hotel accomodation, etc..., I would say you managed to rip the poor country more than the touts in the country's tourist area managed to get from you. Sure, you got ripped off from the fruit lady, and the ice cream vendor, but for how much ? (less than 1 Euro !)...when I go shopping at Walmart, I would be very shy to turn around and say that Walmart is lucky for me to spend my hard-earned dollars on, because I know it's mutual benefit for both sides !!!. Sure I got phobia about travelling to countries like Germany or Russia because of all the news about the racist skin heads' beatings, but, unlike you, I would not stoop so low to say that most Germans or Russians are racists and violent, and I certainly would not let that stop me from travelling to Russia and Germany. When travel to poor countries like Vietnam, just ask yourself a question 'if there is a place like Halong bay in your own country, how much more would it probably cost you for a tour, so why are you trying to count pennies when you already got a such a great bargain'...these poor countries need generous tourists, they don't need blood-sucking tourists like you : the poor country had to put up with you for 15 days !!! and I thought you couldn't get out of the country fast enough.
15th April 2010

not dishonest at all
we just came back from this place and had no problem what so ever I think that if you want some thing for less than it cost for them to buy or supply you are going to get a unfavourable response it is the same if I wanted to pay a stingy travel writer $25 for his hard earned work any way we had a great time and where very happy with the prices paid and my name is not bill gates
30th December 2012

Agree
The Vietnamese would have to be the most dishonest culture on Earth. India is a close second, but Indians seem to make dishonesty fun. Vietnamese culture has a dark and violent underbelly, they have exported crime and dishonesty to whichever country they immigrated to after the American war.
4th August 2013

the dishonesty in vietnam has to been seen to believed
The second you step out of the airport, actually in the airport i had to pay the customs guy $50 to bring in 2 computers - corruption is kind of dishonesty, you get ripped off. I started a goat farm and the workers tried to rip me off, the manager tried to rip me off, the vet tried to rip me off. You do meet the odd honest person, but i found out my own aunty was trying to rip me off too. I think it is because if you have been exploited, bombed , shot , occupied , sprayed with agent orange and generally been treated historically with disrepect by outside powers then being cynical and ripping of outsiders comes easy. I am Vietnamese myself and get ripped off all the time, but i have learnt to live with it and to trust no one.

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 14; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0367s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb