The rice harvest in Mù Cang Chải and Trạm Tấu


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Northwest » Yen Bai
October 12th 2012
Published: October 15th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Mù Cang Chải during the harvestMù Cang Chải during the harvestMù Cang Chải during the harvest

This shot was taken by my travel companion and it's also my favorite photo of the whole trip. We were traveling by motorbike from Mù Cang Chải town to La Pán Tẩn commune.
I am just back home after traveling 2,450km by local bus, taxi and motorbike in 7 provinces of the North West and the North East mountain regions of Vietnam. This was the longest road trip I’ve ever made. I had traveled for 27 days from 13 September to 9 October and it was also one of the most interesting trips of my life. I had a traveling companion on this trip and we shared some sections of the road. We visited more than 15 villages of the H’mong, Dzao, Thai, Mường, La Hủ, Tày, Nùng and Cống ethnic minority people. There were so many great memories and expriences on this trip. What made us remember most of all was the friendly people we met on the way. All began with a simple conversation or greetings which then led us to a friendly invitation “Come in my house!” and lots of fun. We were invited to a wedding party of the Dzao ethnic minority people in Sìn Hồ. We had home stay with a local Vietnamese family in Mường Tè. So many people (Thai, Nùng, Cống and Vietnamese) invited us to their home and entertained us with meals and drinks. They are
Terraced rice fields in Chế Cu Nha communeTerraced rice fields in Chế Cu Nha communeTerraced rice fields in Chế Cu Nha commune

We passed by a H'mong house and decided to walk through the rice field to get this amazing view.
very poor, but they are extremely generous and they treated us like the most special guests. We were really touched by their hospitality. In some villages of the remote area the locals have never seen tourists and they thanked us for visiting. Two villages of the Cống ethnic minority people which we went to near Mường Tè will soon be submerged in the water, as Lai Châu hydropower plant is being built, so we were lucky to be there once before they disappear.

Some days we felt like we were isolated from the modern world. The living conditions were so poor and we even lived without electricity for 3 days in Mường Tè. We also traveled on the worst roads which were bumpy and full of mud and rocks. They were so bad that we had to give up and changed to another place. One day we were stuck on the road because of landslide in Lai Châu and it took us a whole day just to travel 43km. We also had a motorbike accident in Xín Mần (I still have the bruises) and it was the fault of Xe ôm (motorbike taxi driver). The landscape is so
Terraced rice fields in La Pán Tẩn communeTerraced rice fields in La Pán Tẩn communeTerraced rice fields in La Pán Tẩn commune

There are little stilt houses of H'mong people on the terraced rice fields. This is one of them. The house is used by H'mong farmers for resting during the farming work or for taking care of their rice fields.
beautiful. We passed by yellow terraced rice fields and misty mountains, as well as villages and markets of the ethnic minority people. October is the time for the rice harvest and one of the purposes of our trip was to take photos of the ethnic minority people working on the rice fields. I also brought two Áo Dài traditional dresses with me on this trip for taking photos at the terraced rice fields, and I also wore one of them at the wedding party of the Dzao ethnic minority people in Sìn Hồ.

I returned to Yên Bái province. I visited Mù Cang Chải for the first time just a couple of months ago (in July), but it rained all the time, so I decided I would go back during the rice harvest. This time I was traveling on the opposite direction, ie from Than Uyên to Mù Cang Chải. There were many Vietnamese tourists and photographers who also went to this district for taking photos of the terraced rice fields, so it was difficult to find a guesthouse. We decided to rent a motorbike for one and a half days and went to Chế Cu Nha commune (10km)
H'mong women on the rice fieldH'mong women on the rice fieldH'mong women on the rice field

The H'mong woman with the baby was shy at first when I took a photo, but then she was back to work. This shot was taken on the way to Bản Mù village, Trạm Tấu district.
and La Pán Tẩn commune (20km from the town) which have beautiful terraced rice fields made by H’mong people. The road in La Pán Tẩn commune was very bad, so we couldn’t visit a H’mong village and had to go back to Mù Cang Chải town. We also tried to see Mồ Dề commune (7km), but the road was even worse. Only H’mong men riding Win motorbikes could go through. We decided to give up and changed to another mountain road where we got great view of the town.

Our next destination was Tú Lệ town which is 50km away from Mù Cang Chải. This town is famous for the good rice. I went to Là Lóng village of the Thai ethnic minority people and by chance I chatted with a Thai ethnic minority boy. He invited us a great dinner at his house and next day he took us to the fields on the mountain. We also went to a hot spring and saw a local man bathing in a small pool next to the stream.

We then spent a night in Nghĩa Lộ town. It was the Full Moon day and we saw children and adults
Terraced rice fields in Chế Cu Nha communeTerraced rice fields in Chế Cu Nha communeTerraced rice fields in Chế Cu Nha commune

On my first day in Mù Cang Chải, it was sunny so I got this great view.
in the town celebrating the Mid autumn festival. The rice harvest was over on Mường Lò fields. It was done earlier this year due to the bad weather (too much rain). Next day we moved on to Trạm Tấu district. The road up to the mountain is narrow and winding. We went to a H’mong village and saw H’mong people working on the rice fields, while H’mong boys were playing their traditional game outside a school. It took us one day with 3 bus rides to move from Trạm Tấu to Hà Giang city.

This was a long and hard trip, even for me as a professional traveler. We moved on to new locations most of the time. I lost much weight after the trip, but I am happy to go home with the feeling of accomplishment as I’ve been to so many new and interesting places I had wished to see.

The photos in this blog were taken in Mù Cang Chải district, Tú Lệ town, Nghĩa Lộ town and Trạm Tấu district of Yên Bái province, North West Vietnam from 27/9 to 2/10/2012. More photos later.

Travel tips: The route I traveled on this 27
Terraced rice fields in Chế Cu Nha communeTerraced rice fields in Chế Cu Nha communeTerraced rice fields in Chế Cu Nha commune

We were going back to Mù Cang Chải town after visiting La Pán Tẩn (20km from the town).
day trip: Hanoi – Hòa Bình – Mai Châu – Mộc Châu – Sơn La – Điện Biên – Mường Tè – Chăn Nưa – Sìn Hồ - Lai Châu – Than Uyên – Mù Cang Chải – Nghĩa Lộ - Trạm Tấu – Yên Bái – Hà Giang – Xín Mần – Hoàng Su Phì – Tuyên Quang – Hanoi. Total distance 2,450km. It’s easy to get a bus from A to B, however on some routes there is only one bus per day, so you should not miss it. The 5am bus is not pleasant at all as you have to wake up early. It’s difficult to find Xe ôm (Motorbike taxi) in the remote area and it’s also very expensive.

Other blogs about the same trip:

Hòa Bình - Sơn La - Điện Biên

Mường Tè and wedding of the Dzao people in Sìn Hồ

Sunday market in Hoàng Su Phì and Xín Mần

Mù Cang Chải, Tú Lệ, Nghĩa Lộ & Trạm Tấu – Ngày 27/9 đến 2/10/2012

Đây là chuyến đi dài ngày nhất mà tôi đã thực hiện. Chuyến đi của tôi tới 7 tỉnh miền núi Tây Bắc và Đông Bắc kéo dài 27 ngày (từ 13/9 đến 9/10/2012). Đây cũng là một trong những chuyến đi thú vị nhất trong cuộc
Road from Trạm Tấu to Bản Mù villageRoad from Trạm Tấu to Bản Mù villageRoad from Trạm Tấu to Bản Mù village

12km by Xe ôm (motorbike taxi)
đời tôi. Trong chuyến đi này, tôi có bạn đồng hành đi cùng với tôi một vài đoạn đường. Chúng tôi đã đi 2.450km bằng xe khách, taxi, xe ôm và thuê xe máy. Chúng tôi đã đến thăm hơn 15 bản làng của người dân tộc Mông, Dzao, Thái, Mường, La Hủ (hay Lá Vàng), Tày, Nùng và Cống. Chúng tôi đã có những kỷ niệm tuyệt vời trong chuyến đi này và điều mà chúng tôi nhớ đến nhiều nhất chính là những người dân thân thiện mà chúng tôi đã gặp trên suốt chặng hành trình. Mọi việc bắt đầu chỉ đơn giản là một lời chào hay một câu hỏi, nhưng từ đó đã dẫn chúng tôi tới lời mời thân thiện “Vào nhà chơi” hay “Vào đây uống nước”. Chúng tôi được mời tham dự một bữa tiệc cưới của người dân tộc Dzao ở Sìn Hồ. Chúng tôi ở cùng một gia đình người Việt tại Mường Tè. Có rất nhiều người dân tộc Thái, Nùng, Cống và người Việt mời chúng tôi đến nhà chơi và thết đãi chúng tôi một bữa cơm thịnh soạn. Họ rất nghèo, nhưng họ vô cùng rộng rãi và họ thết đãi chúng tôi như những vị khách đặc biệt nhất. Điều đó làm cho chúng tôi rất cảm động. Ở một số ngôi làng, người dân còn chưa bao giờ thấy có khách du lịch, nên họ cảm ơn chúng tôi đã tới thăm. Hai ngôi làng của người dân tộc Cống ở gần Mường Tè mà chúng tôi đã tới thăm sẽ sớm bị chìm trong nước lòng hồ thủy điện Lai Châu. Ít nhất chúng tôi cũng cảm thấy may mắn vì đã một lần tới đây trước khi hai ngôi làng này biến mất.

Có những ngày chúng tôi sống cách ly với thế giới hiện đại. Điều kiện sống rất nghèo nàn. Chúng tôi đã sống 3 ngày liền không có điện ở Mường Tè và Chăn Nưa của tỉnh Lai Châu, khi đó không thể sạc pin được. Chúng tôi cũng đã đi trên những con đường tồi tệ nhất, rất dốc và gồ ghề đầy bùn đất và đá sỏi. Đôi khi đường xấu đến mức chúng tôi không thể đi được nữa và quyết định chuyển sang địa điểm khác. Có ngày chúng tôi bị mắc kẹt ở trên đường vì sạt lở đất tại Lai Châu và mất một ngày trời chỉ để đi 43km. Chúng tôi cũng bị ngã xe máy ở Xín Mần do lỗi của ông xe ôm và cho đến giờ hai chân tôi vẫn còn bầm tím. Phong cảnh trên đường đi tuyệt đẹp. Chúng tôi đi qua những thửa ruộng bậc thang, những ngọn núi phủ đầy sương mù và mây bồng bềnh, những bản làng và chợ của người dân tộc thiểu số. Tháng 10 là thời điểm lúa chín vàng và một trong những mục đích của chúng tôi trong chuyến đi này là chụp ảnh người dân tộc đang gặt lúa trên các cánh đồng. Tôi cũng mang theo hai chiếc Áo Dài trong chuyến đi này để chụp ảnh ruộng bậc thang và tôi cũng mặc Áo Dài khi đến dự đám cưới của người dân tộc Dzao tại Sìn Hồ.

Vậy là tôi lại quay trở lại tỉnh Yên Bái. Mới hai tháng trước, tôi đến Mù Cang Chải lần đầu tiên, nhưng trời mưa suốt, nên tôi quyết định sẽ quay lại vào mùa lúa chín vàng. Lần này, tôi đi theo
The road in La Pán TẩnThe road in La Pán TẩnThe road in La Pán Tẩn

This road is a real challenge for motorbike riders and tourists. We had to give up after climbing up this slope and decided to go down.
hướng ngược lại, tức là từ Than Uyên sang Mù Cang Chải. Có rất nhiều người Việt từ Sài Gòn và các nhiếp ảnh gia đến đây để chụp ảnh ruộng bậc thang, nên rất khó tìm được nhà nghỉ. Chúng tôi quyết định thuê xe máy một ngày rưỡi đến xã Chế Cu Nha (10km) và xã La Pán Tẩn (cách Mù Cang Chải 20km) là những nơi có ruộng bậc thang đẹp và đều là của người dân tộc Mông. Mới gần đây có một vụ sạt lở đất ở La Pán Tẩn. Đường ở đây rất xấu, nên chúng tôi không thể đến thăm bản của người Mông và phải quay trở về Mù Cang Chải. Chúng tôi cũng thử đi đến xã Mồ Dề (cách 7km), nhưng đường đi còn xấu hơn, chỉ có các tay lái người dân tộc Mông đi xe Win mới có thể qua được. Chúng tôi quyết định chuyển sang con đường khác và ngắm toàn cảnh thị trấn từ trên cao.

Điểm đến tiếp theo của chúng tôi là thị trấn Tú Lệ, cách Mù Cang Chải 50km trên đường về Nghĩa Lộ. Tú Lệ nổi tiếng vì gạo
At a Thai ethnic minority house in Tú Lệ townAt a Thai ethnic minority house in Tú Lệ townAt a Thai ethnic minority house in Tú Lệ town

I made friend with this Thai ethnic minority boy when I was visiting Là Lóng village in the town. He invited me to dinner with his family. The boy is blowing wind through the pipe for fire.
ngon. Tôi đến thăm bản Là Lóng của người dân tộc Thái và tình cờ trò chuyện với một cậu thanh niên người dân tộc Thái sống ở cạnh Quốc lộ 32. Nhà cậu rất nghèo, không có cả nhà tắm. Khi cô vợ đi tắm thì phải quây một tấm vải ngay trước cửa nhà cạnh đường quốc lộ. Cậu bé mời tôi một bữa tối thịnh soạn với món sâu tre đắt tiền. Hôm sau, cậu còn dẫn chúng tôi lên núi thăm vườn ổi. Chúng tôi cũng đến thăm suối nước nóng. Cạnh dòng suối là một bể bơi nhỏ cho cả đàn ông và phụ nữ người Thái tắm cùng.

Chúng tôi nghỉ một đêm ở thị xã Nghĩa Lộ. Hôm đó đúng vào rằm Trung thu. Chúng tôi nhìn thấy cả người lớn và trẻ em rước đèn ngoài phố. Các cánh đồng lúa ở Mường Lò trông xác xơ vì vụ mùa thu hoạch đã kết thúc sớm hơn mọi năm do năm nay trời mưa nhiều quá. Hôm sau, chúng tôi đi tiếp đến Trạm Tấu, cách Nghĩa Lộ 30km, nhưng đi đường núi rất hẹp và ngoằn ngoèo. Chúng tôi đến thăm Bản Mù của người dân tộc Mông. Trên đường đi, tôi nhìn thấy những người dân tộc Mông đang gặt lúa. Bên ngoài một trường học, những cậu bé người Mông đang chơi đánh cù. Tôi muốn đi tiếp đến Tà Ghênh, nhưng đường rất xấu. Chúng tôi mất một ngày và đi ba chuyến xe khách để đi từ Trạm Tấu đến thành phố Hà Giang.

Đây là một chuyến đi dài ngày và rất vất vả, kể cả đối với tôi là một người đi du lịch chuyên nghiệp. Chúng tôi di chuyển liên tục đến các địa điểm mới. Tôi bị sụt mất 4 cân sau chuyến đi này, nhưng tôi đã trở về nhà với cảm giác hạnh phúc vì đã hoàn thành được chuyến đi đến những vùng đất mà tôi mong muốn được nhìn thấy.

Blog này bao gồm các bức ảnh chụp tại huyện Mù Cang Chải, thị trấn Tú Lệ, thị xã Nghĩa Lộ và huyện Trạm Tấu của tỉnh Yên Bái, Tây Bắc Việt Nam.

Ghi chú: Cung đường mà tôi đã đi trong chuyến đi 27 ngày là: Hà Nội – Hòa Bình – Mai Châu – Mộc Châu – Sơn La – Điện Biên – Mường Tè – thị trấn Chăn Nưa – Sìn Hồ - Lai Châu – Than Uyên – Mù Cang Chải – Nghĩa Lộ – Trạm Tấu – Yên Bái – Ngã ba Đoan Hùng – Hà Giang – Xín Mần – Hoàng Su Phì – Ngã ba Tân Quang – Tuyên Quang – Hà Nội. Tổng khoảng cách là 2.450km. Việc đi lại khá dễ dàng giữa các điểm, tuy nhiên trên một số tuyến đường chỉ có duy nhất một chuyến xe khách mỗi ngay. Đôi khi phải đi xe khách vào lúc 5 giờ sáng, nên phải dậy rất sớm. Xe ôm ở vùng sâu vùng xa rất khó kiếm và cũng rất đắt tiền.

Các bài viết khác về chuyến đi 27 ngày:

Hòa Bình - Sơn La - Điện Biên

Mường Tè and wedding of the Dzao people in Sìn Hồ

Sunday market in Hoàng Su Phì and Xín Mần


Additional photos below
Photos: 60, Displayed: 35


Advertisement

Terraced rice fields in Chế Cu Nha communeTerraced rice fields in Chế Cu Nha commune
Terraced rice fields in Chế Cu Nha commune

I met a group of tourists and photographers from Hải Phòng city and one of them helped me take this shot. There are many photographers coming to Mù Cang Chải at this time for taking photos of the terraced rice fields.
Tú Lệ town on Highway No. 32Tú Lệ town on Highway No. 32
Tú Lệ town on Highway No. 32

Rice is dried right on the highway. A Thai ethnic minority woman is working on her rice.


15th October 2012

Wow, what a long holiday you had. Thank you for all the beautiful scenery of this section of Vietnam just before harvesting. I like terraced rice fields the most, reminds me of Bali. Great write up.
15th October 2012

Rice harvest
Thanks very much for the great photos. I love the rice terraces and the photos of the harvest.
15th October 2012
H'mong children in La Pán Tẩn

Travel
nice one! http://www.travelblog.org/
15th October 2012

wow
Yes, WOW!!! Double wow.
15th October 2012
Mù Cang Chải during the harvest

Great Shot!
This reminds me of my trip in Vietnam! Love those rice fields :-) Great focus, great shot!
15th October 2012

Terraces
Great photos of the terraced rice fields!
15th October 2012

Thank you for sharing!
Really enjoyed reading and seeing the pics, it was like i was able to travel a little from my own room! :)
16th October 2012

Nice!
24th December 2012
Terraced rice fields in Chế Cu Nha commune

Gặp lại người quen
Rất vui khi vô tình qua thông tin của một người bạn ở Thái Bình được gặp lại bạn. Mình rất nể phục bạn khi đọc xong TravelBlog. Mình cũng rất thích đi để khám phá, tìm hiểu về thiên nhiên cũng như đời sông sinh hoạt của bà con dân tộc ở vùng núi phía Bắc như bạn nhưng trong cuộc sống đôi khi cái khó nó bó cái khôn. Thôi cứ từ từ tìm hiểu vậy. Chúc bạn luôn Vui, Khỏe, có nhiều cảm xúc để chia sẻ với cộng đồng về cuộc sống nơi mà bạn đã trải nghiệm.

Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 17; qc: 37; dbt: 0.0696s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb