SAPA


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Northwest » Lao Cai » Sapa
May 6th 2006
Published: May 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

-LATEST TRAVEL ITINERARY-

Since I had unexpectedly spent the bulk of my time in Hoi An, I now have 10 days to make it through Northern Vietnam, Cambodia, Thailand and by May 13th, India where the next (and final) volunteer program awaits.

My intention in Northern Vietnam is to rejuvenate in magical Sapa, ALONE. And boy is it working. Sapa sits proudly upon a mountaintop and is tucked away far north just miles from the Chinese border. It was no picnic getting here from Hoi An. One hour taxi, 1 hour flight, another 1 hour taxi, 10 hour train ride, and a 1 hour bus (also add waiting hours in between each). But I’m happy to say, it was well worth it. The weather is pleasantly warm during the day, and comfortably chilly at night, and always complimented with soft winds. I booked myself a room at a mountain lodge with balcony for 3 days, and a $5 extra splurge for the option of a “spectacular view”. My first day I slept for almost a full 24 hours, waking up every 2 or 3 to watch the sun go down, the sun come up, the stars twinkle or the morning mist dance over the fairytale-like mountains. It all makes me feel very peaceful and connected. It is quiet, and the sounds that fill the air are crickets rather than motorbikes, and I’m really happy about that.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.179s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0777s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb