Life in the Mekong (Ver 2)


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Mekong River Delta
February 12th 2013
Published: February 12th 2013
Edit Blog Post

First upload of this blog, the pictures didnt turn out so uploading again. looked like pics are. It loading bork perky from my phone so I will upload pics next time.

Day four of living on a Mekong Delta fruit farm and starting to get an upset stomach. This morning I woke up with small stomach cramps...what did I eat yesterday that I didn't eat the other days before? Maybe it was the tea that I had before bed? Or the fish we caught in a local muddy stream that weaves in between the farms. Or the ice coffee that contained ice was made from a local tap water from the well? Or the fresh lettuce washed with the tap water? Or maybe all the above? I am sitting here writing this while I sip on a glass ginger and sugar water that was prepared for me by the family I am staying with because they can hear me cough every 5 mins. It is very nice if them to have made this for me looking after my health but makes me wonder what water was used! But how can I say no to them and not take up on their offer without them being offended? Life on the farmbseems like a simple yet relaxing kind of life - a life of lying around or swinging in a hammock relaxing in the middle of the day as to say it is too hot to do anything. I believe that is way everyone here wakes up at 5am and out and about at 6am, to beat the stifling heat. It is not as hot in the delta as it is in the city, you get some relieve of the lush green canopy of all the fruit trees. Every where you turn, all you see is green green and more green. Dotted between all the greenery are some fresh delicious fruits, rose apple, milk apple, mangos, coconuts, oranges, limes, jackfruit, bananas, just to name a few. Not all the fruits are ready to be eaten but I did get the chance to sample some delicious and sweet mangos, rose apple, milk apple and fresh coconut juice. I have been lucky to have been welcomed my sister in law's aunt's family to stay with them for a few days. They have been very welcoming and kind to me since I arrived. They have gone out of their way to prepare me wonderful meals (which have been absolutely delicious), shared with me their fruits from their trees, shown me how to catch a fish from the stream and cook it up. I don't feel out of place as I thought I might have been. I feel at home here with them. Now, on to some negative and interesting points about the Mekong Delta life. The first negative point - bring lots of mosquito repellant! Lucky, I brought some but I wish I had another bottle. The first day I was here, I was spraying myself constantly. Then I looked at my bottle and it was already 1/4 gone and it had been only 3 hours since I arrived! I had to make the bottle last for 5 days! I find it interesting that the mosquitos are attacking me and not the locals! Garbage - it is everywhere. Locals just seems to be satisfied by just tossing garbage anywhere. Have a wrapper from a candy and you Need a garbage? Just toss it over hour shoulder. I'm not saying that there are tons of garbage lying around but you notice there is garbage tossed here and there. But I guess we do it at home to some degree as I have seen but it is more noticeable when there is garbage laying on the ground of lush green vegetation. Bathroom - it is an all in one stop shop for your sanitary needs. Your toilet is your shower and your shower is your toilet! That's right, it's one room with a shower head and right there is your toilet too. I think this is common in south East Asia as I have come across this type of facility in Thailand as well. It is something to get used too. It is odd to stand on a wet floor when using the toilet - it is for me anyways. Oh...and did I mention locals don't use tp? Instead, the have a water sprayer! How do you use one properly without getting yourself all wet is something I am not sure of! So, there is where I sign off. Tomorrow I am heading back the HCMC for one night and then catch an 6am flight to Hanoi and Halong Bay portion of my trip. So everything is still fine with me and I am still enjoying myself. I am having a ton of fun and I wish it won't end on the 24th. Hope all is well at home. I heard the Canucks are doing great. It seems like they do great when I am on vacation! Maybe I shouldn't come home so we can win the cup this year! Everyone ok with that??!! Till next time!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0447s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb