My Tho (23-25 Nov 12)


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Mekong River Delta » Tien Giang » My Tho
November 23rd 2012
Published: November 24th 2012
Edit Blog Post

My ThoMy ThoMy Tho

Launchpad for every traveller's journey into Vietnam's Mekong Delta area.
Welcome to the Mekong Delta! Where I finally realised how downright cheap I was!

I'd read that you had to shop around to find the best deals for the boat tours that take you through a few of the smaller islands surrounding the town of My Tho where I arrived. Trying to sniff out the cheapest possible one, I went from tour desk to tour desk, and they all said that typically each group had to charter their own private boat, with prices ranging from about USD15 to USD40.

I thought that was expensive even at the low end (!), and at one point even considered trying to just blend in with a larger tour group, to go for a free ride! But my morals(?) and fear about being discovered got the better of me. Instead, I decided to ask a particular desk whether I could just join a smaller group for less. She gave a bit of a look (that "gosh you really are a cheap backpacker" face) and finally relented and said yes, for USD10 there was a couple I could join. But reminded me not to tell them I was paying less, cos they were paying
My ThoMy ThoMy Tho

Can't help but think how this reminds me of Pathein in Myanmar, another relatively non-descript riverside small town.
USD15 each! (They turned out to be an elderly English couple who had retired in Spain, and who told me how expensive it was now to live in England, but that's another story).

Anyway, that was for a three hour boat ride plus tour through two of the surrounding islands, which turned out to be quite a packed itinerary, considering the price. Apart from the boat itself, the package included free honey tea, tropical fruit and coconut candy tasting, as well as a sampan ride through the smaller waterways, all narrated by a guide (in fact the woman manning the desk!).

The guide was quite informative and knowledgeable, so it turned out to be quite a pleasant half-day trip. I actually felt almost guilty about being such a stickler about the price, so I tipped the guide USD2. She must surely have not been expecting such 'generosity' from the miserly Asian solo backpacker, cos when she received it, she let out a bit of a surprised laugh tinged with irony. And who could blame her?

So that's My Tho, which almost daily sees whirlwind tourist day-trippers from Saigon, but otherwise almost completely reverts to being an ordinary
Mekong BoatsMekong BoatsMekong Boats

Ready to ferry the hordes of day-trippers from Saigon through the surrounding islands.
Vietnamese town as the night falls, and as the last Westerner disappears and fades out of sight. The (dirty) markets, old shophouses, broken pavements, and almost complete lack of English in this riverside town reminded me a little of Pathein in Myanmar. Whatever the case, it was a nice break from the hustle and insanity of Saigon, and a nice introduction to the Mekong Delta.

Stayed at the Rang Dong Hotel.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

My Tho RiceMy Tho Rice
My Tho Rice

Just a hint of why Vietnam is set to overtake Thailand this year as the world's largest exporter of rice...
Salting FishSalting Fish
Salting Fish

Presumably fresh(?) from the Mekong.
Rach Mieu PierRach Mieu Pier
Rach Mieu Pier

Lotsa green stuff by the side.
Vietnamese in ActionVietnamese in Action
Vietnamese in Action

Really no clue what they're up to...
Floating Fish FarmsFloating Fish Farms
Floating Fish Farms

Against the backdrop of the new bridge that connects My Tho to the islands.
Honey ManHoney Man
Honey Man

On Unicorn Island.
Tropical Fruits GaloreTropical Fruits Galore
Tropical Fruits Galore

The Vietnamese eat their fruit with salt mixed with chilli!
Sampan RideSampan Ride
Sampan Ride

Through the waterways of Unicorn Island.
Coconut Candy FactoryCoconut Candy Factory
Coconut Candy Factory

On Ben Tre island.
Coconut Candy FactoryCoconut Candy Factory
Coconut Candy Factory

Each little candy piece is hand-cut by knife!


Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 31; dbt: 0.046s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb