Going Back To Thailand!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
April 26th 2012
Published: April 27th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Our trip in November/December 2010 to Thailand was AMAZING! It was the first time I actually committed to a blog because I wanted to share the experiences we had with the world. It's been a year and a half and we got the Thai travel bug. Many things have happened since that first trip that delayed our second: we bought a house, Z got a new job that he loves, I got a promotion and a side job teaching sign language at a university, and I got my first car loan ever (Escape Hybrid!). It's approaching the time to purchase our flights, so we have begun the "trip talks." Can we afford it? When are we going? Who is going to watch the pets? How long are we staying? What do we want to do there?

Well, we will be able to afford it soon. The major bummer is I'm not finding the deals I did two years ago. Before Z and I got our two round trip tickets from ORD (Chicago) to BKK for less than $2000. Now, one ticket alone is $1500. We are going to fly on Korean Air again because 1) they rock, 2) they are actually one of the cheapest if you book direct through their website, and 3) I want my frequent flier miles! I need a free trip to Thailand stat!

We won't be able to go until mid- to end of December (I can't leave until finals are over). It is more expensive due to Xmas and New Years, more crowded, but the weather should be beautiful. Our last trip we were lucky with lots of sun, but near the end we hit quite a bit of rain on Lanta. We plan on staying one month, returning home mid-January (classes start end of January).

Our wish list of places to go/things to do:

*Bangkok: Wat Pho for some amazing massages (again), dinner cruise (missed it last time), the medical museum Siriraj (missed it), shopping, get a tailored suit (regretted not getting one), Chatuchak Weekend Market (missed it), Soi Cowboy (to say I've been)

*Chiang Mai and/or Pai: Elephants (again), trekking (maybe), relaxing, cooking class (missed it and regretted it)

*?? Undecided ?? Perhaps Kanchanaburi... Ayuttaya... Someplace new that we never been. Maybe we will decide when we get there.

*Simians: 3 day/2 night Snorkeling Live Aboard (big baby Z refuses to take diving classes with me because he doesn't want to drown or something.. I can't even swim and I want to learn!)

*Koh Lanta: Snorkeling unless we are snorkelled out from the Simians, learn to ride a motorbike (maybe), island hop, pizza ninja at Mr. Wee (OMG! Heaven!!!), relax and do nothing!!!

I can't wait!!!!!!!!

Advertisement



28th April 2012

Congratulations!
I can't wait for more pictures.. I especially think you should try some more of the very unique food they have their. Such as.....sea cicada's. Yum??

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0544s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb