After Ice 2011 Thailand Trip


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
August 28th 2011
Published: September 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

After the 2010 -2011 ice season, I spent a relaxing month in Thailand soaking up the warmth. My first week I traveled to the Gulf of Thailand to do a bit of snorkeling in and around the islands of Ko Tao, Ko Samui, and Ko Pha Ngan. I enjoyed crystal clear waters and warm white sand beaches.
For the next ten days I spent in the sea side city of Hau Hin, http://www.hua-hin.com/
I spent many a day walking the beaches, the streets of the city and enjoying a more laid back approach of life. I then spent several days in Bangkok, seeing the big city lights and bargaining for souvenirs for family and friends.
After Bangkok it was off to the north of Thailand by train. This was an experience in its self. Dinner and breakfast was served, what a surprise! Yes, the train was air conditioned, was it ever – I’ve never been so cold on public transportation in a country known for its heat.
I arrived in Chiang Mai at about 6am. Made it to Spicythai Backpackers where I stayed for a week. Great place to stay, very helpful with day tours and other inexpensive things to see and do. However, while in Chiang Mai I could not get away from those earthquakes that was following me or ahead of me for my destinations of travel. (Christchurch, NZ, Chiang Mai, Thailand, Tokyo Japan) I did get to go to a day long elephant park, where I rode and washed the beasties.
Next it was back to Bangkok on that freezing train, what an adventure. While in Bangkok each time I stayed at the Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel. http://www.nirasbankoc.com/
They provide a lockable dresser with a key big enough for a couple of large backpacks.
Will I return in 2012, only time will tell. There are so many new places in the world to visit,



Additional photos below
Photos: 55, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



19th January 2012
Thailand 2011

Love these pics
How beautiful is Thailand and how lucky are you to be experiencing all that you do!
12th March 2014
Thailand 2011

Beautiful Photos!
Thank you for sharing your photos with me. I think the Thailand 2011 photo is one of my favorites.

Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 17; qc: 76; dbt: 0.0692s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb