Take me to the jungle ....


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
January 3rd 2010
Published: January 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

We have moved accommodation as the place we were staying was fully booked. I didn’t realise we had booked some where on the same beach. It just meant that we didn’t need to get a taxi haha. We just carted out luggage across the sand to out new beach hut. I’ve had a really lazy past couple of days and I’ve been trying to get a tan, but it’s just not happening!

Today has been the most adventurous day so far! Jodie and I went on the Phangan Safari tour. We were picked up in a jeep this morning and joined a larger group of travellers. I met a lot of really nice people.

We started the day off on an elephant trek which was amazing. Although, I did feel really sad for the elephants and the way they were treated. Our tour guide kept on hitting the elephant with a sharp metal stick. They are such gentle animals. We came across lots of little chicks and I thought the elephant was going to stand on them but he just shifted them out the way with his trunk. We also watched the “King Cobra Show” which was just really bizarre! This man had a boxing type match with the cobras. He also put one in his mouth and down his trousers - eh, what’s that all about?!

We then went back in the jeep to visit the only Chinese temple in Thailand. The architecture is a mix between Chinese and Thai; it was quite interesting to see the different colours mixed together. The temple is used as a sort of refuge for orphans.

The guide book described the next activity as time to “relax and enjoy the Pang Waterfall”. I assure it was neither relaxing nor enjoyable! They never told us to bring proper shoes so we all had to walk through the jungle in flip flops. The place was full of snakes and other creepy crawlies. We basically climbed a mountain in the scorching heat and then there was a tropical storm! It was really tretorous coming down but I made it, only just! We then went for lunch and went to Thong Lang Beach. The others went snorkeling but I decided to give it a miss and headed back with a few other people that needed to leave early. We are all meeting up later this evening for dinner and drinks so I better go and get ready!

Later ‘gators!



Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



3rd January 2010

Take me to the jungle
How can you ever say that you are afraid of spiders after holding a snake.

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0546s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb