Adventures in Kanchanburi, Thailand.


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Western Thailand » Kanchanaburi
May 1st 2007
Published: May 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Bridge over the River Kwai, Kanchanburi.Bridge over the River Kwai, Kanchanburi.Bridge over the River Kwai, Kanchanburi.

Bridge over the River Kwai, Kanchanburi.
This morning I got up early and boarded a bus to an area south of Bangkok, Kanchanburi, after around one and a half hours I came to the floating market, which is a predominately Chinese area. All of the canals were dug by the immigrating chinese who wanted to feel a little closer to home. Now days there are really no cars in this area, and most households have at least one "James Bond Boat" which is how the long tailed boats are referred to.
The Market was a hub of bustling food and craft vendours. I stopped and ate from nearly every boat, but I couldnt go past the coconut pancakes!. After wandering along the banks of the market, I Jumpded in a little paddle boat and made my way along the rest of the canal. This was really enjoyable and certaily wet my appetite for China.
Form here I took another bus further south in Ranchanburi to visit the bridge ofver the river Kwai, known as 'Saphan Mae Kwai'. This is certainly represents a poinient moment in Australian millitary history, and being so close to ANZAC day, I thought it quite timely. All of the materials for the
Floating Market, Kanchanburi.Floating Market, Kanchanburi.Floating Market, Kanchanburi.

Floating Market, Kanchanburi.
railway were imported from Java, by the Japanese imperial army during 1942-43 occupation of Thailand. It has been estimated that around 16,000 Australian, British and American POW's died building the death railway, of which the bridge was only a very small part. The bridge and the museum seemed to serve different purposes for the diverse group of tourists in this region. But for me it really represented the ills of war, and a reminder of how inhumane people can be.

After making my way to yet another bus stop, I headed for the Thailand/Burmrese border for something I was really excited about, the Tiger Temple. This Monestery was built in 1994, with objectives to a propogate Buddhism and conserve forrests and wildlife. It has now become a sanctuary for orphaned tiger cubs, who grow up with the spiritual care of the Buddhist monks. The First cub that arrived, was delivered to the monks after she was orphaned by poachers, unfortunately she did not survive, and was burried under a Bhoti tree. Shortly afterwards two young male tiger cubs were handed to the monks and they were named Phaya (Storm) and Saita (Lightening) Their story had a familiar ring as
Tiger Temple, Kanchanburi.Tiger Temple, Kanchanburi.Tiger Temple, Kanchanburi.

Tiger Temple, Kanchanburi.
their mother was slaughtered by poachers. Over the next few years more tiger cubs found their way to the moastery, and now the monks have achieved, what they call tiger harmony, four female tigers and four male tigers.

When I reached the tiger temple I felt a strong sense of spirituality was over me. I walked along a jungle path, on my way to "Tiger Canyon" literally an oasis of rock and sand in the middle of the jungle. It was quite a steep desent to the botton of tiger canyon, I was told that the monks and the tigers were at the bottom, but the angle of the canyon hid them untill the very last moment. But when I reached the bottom and moved amongst the tigers I was reall lost for words. THey acted just like a noremal house cat, some were sleepy and some were playful, and they all reacted imideatel to the soothing voices of the monks. It was really amazing. That was a really amazing day.



Advertisement



23rd May 2007

First one from Paul.
Luke! I can't tell you how good it makes me feel to see your pics and read about your adventure. I was one year older when I began mine but unfortunately, the memories are blurred by too much imbibing; I know you won't make the same mistake. Well not too much anyway. I'm looking forward to keeping in touch through this amazing blog which Warren told me about yesterday - as a result, we're meeting for a coffee this morning! Hemingway said, "In order to write about life, first you must live it." The way you write, you should think about a book when you return! Bon voyage, Luke - although through this blog, I feel like I'm travelling the world myself, vicariously through you! Paul.

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0572s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb