Hua Hin and a bit Ko Phangan. With white rice.


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Western Thailand » Hua Hin
January 17th 2009
Published: January 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I haven’t been doing one of these blog type things for a while for two reasons. 1) everything has been going well so I’ve not had amusing stories to tell and 2) enjoying myself so much I didn’t want to sit on the internet moaning. It’s so sad but I don’t want your sympathy, that would just make it worse.

Well after my last entry, when I was in Ko Samui and it was pissing it down, I checked the weather and headed to Hua Hin. I knew it was very touristy and resort based but it seemed to be hogging all the sun so I headed there anyways. After a first night of wandering the streets at 3am, looking for Liverpools game with Marseille I was ready to leave. There were brothels everywhere and old man dancing, flab all over the shop, and ladyboys approaching on motorbikes offering me a lift. Very kind of them but I thought I’d decline. Impossible to tell anyone that a lone male wandering the streets looking for a bar at 3am was not after..that… I scurried back to my fugitive motel and upgraded to a room with a telly and amazingly the Liverpool game was on in its entirety all live and everything. It was hard not to laugh every time the Thai commentator tried to say ‘Bennayoun’ but even harder was staying awake and I fell asleep at half time like a meff.

Hua Hin is really nice before 2am and has some ace beaches, just a lot of expat rich golfers with younger Thai women, but most of them are pretty sound. I walked into a bar at random for the Chelsea -Arsenal game and by the end of the night , it was so friendly, I seemed to know everyone in there and I spent a lot of the next two weeks in there as a result, and hanging round with the people I met during the day on the beach or whatever. Never before have I seen such a diverse collection of friendly nutjobs and barflys from all over the globe getting pissed out of their heads and shouting/drinking/fighting/singing/ and the going back the next day like nothing happened.

My good friend Ally eventually tracked me down in Hua Hin and we spent a few days there while he acclimatized before heading to Ko Phangan for the full moon party on Dec 12th. The party itself was a horrific study into human behavior, at least that’s what the brochure says. People passing out all over the beach with a bucket of warm redbull and whiskey in one hand, slowly dripping into the sand as they say to them selves ‘I’m having a good time!’. I had no money either as my bank card refused to work , again, and I lost Ally due to drunkenness on my part, so I had to blag a taxi home and ask reception to lend me 300 Baht. Party on!

We headed up to the north and had a great time over Christmas after that, I’ll write about post that time in more detail soon,

but I have to go now . I’m waiting to catch a speedboat to Koa adang to meet up with dave and katherine ..i think there is no internet or email or phone signal there so if I disappear that’s where to look. Have yourself a little holiday at the same time maybe.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0428s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb